We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Thirsk, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kelly L
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I stayed here in the farriers cottage with a group of friends for a 21st Catherine was amazing and couldn't of asked for better service the cottage itself was beautiful really big and everything you would need great hot tub and a great location with the town 5 minutes away! When we arrived the cottage was decorated with all balloons and banners it was more then what we expected and will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelUK2...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, would definitely recommend it”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Fantastic. Visited for a big birthday and couldn't have asked for more. The whole lodge felt newly decorated throughout and the hot tub was amazing. A truly peaceful week.

We arrived to a wonderful welcome basket and the host Catherine couldn't have been more helpful, even finding us jump leads for a car battery mishap! Would definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and really glad you enjoyed your stay. Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub!! (and The White Company diffuser in the bathroom smelt devine!!)
Liked least: There's nothing to not like!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2015
Thank you very much for the lovely comments and glad you found your stay relaxing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David R
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious holiday cottage”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

New to the market, get in quick as it's sure to be very popular and busy, so book early!
Decorated lovely, spotlessly clean and with all the mod cons you could need - hot tub, Sky package, double shower, hot tub, WiFi, comfy beds, sorry did I mention the hot tub?

Lovely gift basket on arrival for our wedding anniversary, personal touches that make a huge difference.

If you ask Catherine nicely she will even organise the weather to be kind to you....

Top tip, find the contact details at her website - horseshoebarns.co.uk and book direct.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: See above!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and really glad you enjoyed your stay. Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: The weather!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ingrid M
1 review
“A hidden gem in the countryside”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I found this fabulous cottage through Tripadvisor. It's new this year so there weren't many reviews....but how fantastic it is! We stayed here with friends for a weekend, whilst doing a triathlon in the area. It was absolutely perfect on all fronts. Beautifully renovated and very clean, with everything that we could want provided for us. A lovely touch was a basket of goodies including home made bread and cookies, and a bottle of wine, to welcome us on our arrival. It was so quiet (we probably made the most noise, having to get up at 4am for an early race start at 7am) and we had lovely neighbours in the adjoining cottage. The hot tub was the icing on the cake - conveniently placed right outside the door, and the perfect place to celebrate our race achievements. Catherine and her family made us feel very welcome.
We will most definitely come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a real pleasure to have you all stay and would be fantastic to have you return and stay with us again.
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony666
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning/Truly Gorgeous”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From the moment the wooden gates opened, this whole place and set up screams “Shear Class”.
On arrival we were immediately met by Catherine our Superb Hostess and we knew from then on this was going to be so special, and WOW, we were right. We entered Farriers Cottage to find Home Made Chocolate Cookies and Brownies ,” Home Made” bread which had my partners Eyes Popping Out and also a Cool Bottle of delicious wine. The Cottage was exceptional. Spotless, stylish to name a few. The Cottage was in pristine condition, from the quality of the decor, furnishings and the everyday household equipment (TV, Surround Sound, and Kitchen appliances) were all of the highest quality. Personal little touches were apparent in every room. The hot tub again was classy and spotless and we couldn’t get the boys out (grrrrrrrr).
A Gorgeous Setting, Superb Quality….and a hostess who really cares. What more do you need?
My partner and I have stayed in many many cottages/lodges and accommodations over the years and “Horshoe Barns” has beaten them all ‘Hands down’

A Huge thank you Catherine (and her team) and we will certainly be back……

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going Home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2015
Thank you for the lovely review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you staying again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing