We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious holiday cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Thirsk, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David R
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious holiday cottage”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

New to the market, get in quick as it's sure to be very popular and busy, so book early!
Decorated lovely, spotlessly clean and with all the mod cons you could need - hot tub, Sky package, double shower, hot tub, WiFi, comfy beds, sorry did I mention the hot tub?

Lovely gift basket on arrival for our wedding anniversary, personal touches that make a huge difference.

If you ask Catherine nicely she will even organise the weather to be kind to you....

Top tip, find the contact details at her website - horseshoebarns.co.uk and book direct.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: See above!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and really glad you enjoyed your stay. Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: The weather!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ingrid M
1 review
“A hidden gem in the countryside”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I found this fabulous cottage through Tripadvisor. It's new this year so there weren't many reviews....but how fantastic it is! We stayed here with friends for a weekend, whilst doing a triathlon in the area. It was absolutely perfect on all fronts. Beautifully renovated and very clean, with everything that we could want provided for us. A lovely touch was a basket of goodies including home made bread and cookies, and a bottle of wine, to welcome us on our arrival. It was so quiet (we probably made the most noise, having to get up at 4am for an early race start at 7am) and we had lovely neighbours in the adjoining cottage. The hot tub was the icing on the cake - conveniently placed right outside the door, and the perfect place to celebrate our race achievements. Catherine and her family made us feel very welcome.
We will most definitely come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a real pleasure to have you all stay and would be fantastic to have you return and stay with us again.
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony666
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning/Truly Gorgeous”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From the moment the wooden gates opened, this whole place and set up screams “Shear Class”.
On arrival we were immediately met by Catherine our Superb Hostess and we knew from then on this was going to be so special, and WOW, we were right. We entered Farriers Cottage to find Home Made Chocolate Cookies and Brownies ,” Home Made” bread which had my partners Eyes Popping Out and also a Cool Bottle of delicious wine. The Cottage was exceptional. Spotless, stylish to name a few. The Cottage was in pristine condition, from the quality of the decor, furnishings and the everyday household equipment (TV, Surround Sound, and Kitchen appliances) were all of the highest quality. Personal little touches were apparent in every room. The hot tub again was classy and spotless and we couldn’t get the boys out (grrrrrrrr).
A Gorgeous Setting, Superb Quality….and a hostess who really cares. What more do you need?
My partner and I have stayed in many many cottages/lodges and accommodations over the years and “Horshoe Barns” has beaten them all ‘Hands down’

A Huge thank you Catherine (and her team) and we will certainly be back……

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going Home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2015
Thank you for the lovely review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you staying again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
994heathe...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely amazing cottage”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We visited this rental property with three children Jack 12, Nathan 9 and Adam 13.
What an amazing property Catherine was very helpful and friendly and on arrival we had a welcome basket filled with goodies including cookies and chocolate brownies and warm bread all home made and a very welcome bottle of wine. Have to say they were all delicious and most welcome on our arrival.
Accommodation was very high standard and boys loved the hot tub.
Have already recommended to several friends one of whom is looking to book shortly and we will definitely be back in the near future for sure just wasn't long enough.
Thank you once again Catherine for a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet perfect chill out time
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and such a pleasure to have a lovely family stay. Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brin2007
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 star + cottage. Highly recommended”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here as a group of girls for 3 nights and couldn't have asked for anything more perfect. Catherine was an excellent hostess. There were so many extra touches that you wouldn't expect from a holiday cottage such as chocolate on the pillows, complimentary tea, coffee and milk, a bottle of proscecco and homemade cookies and bread. The house itself is beautifully decorated and the hot tub was very clean and well looked after,. All in all we we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and will recommend this cottage to everyone!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub!
Liked least: Could not find any faults,
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2015
Thank you for the lovely comments and what a lovely group of girls, you were a pleasure to have stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andness9
Cambridgeshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing stay”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We could not fault this holiday in any way.

On arrival we were greeted by the owner Catherine who had made us a wonderful welcome pack of home made treats and who was always on hand if needed.

The cottage is spotlessly clean with everything that you need to enjoy your holiday and the private hot tub just finishes the holiday off.

The location of the cottage is ideal for viewing lots of attractions.

We will definitely be visiting again and would recommend this property. Thank you Catherine for letting us enjoy your cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and look forward to you staying again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing