We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled for choice!”
Review of The Old Oak Tree

The Old Oak Tree
Ranked #3 of 68 Restaurants in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Family run freehold pub with restaurant serving home cooked food and real ales. Five en-suite rooms available on bed and breakfast basis.
Perth, WA
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Spoiled for choice!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Family dinner on a Friday night. The place was quite busy but the staff remained positive, friendly and helpful.
There is a very wide ranging menu plus a few specials and is very reasonably priced.
Nice atmosphere - if I didn't live in Australia I would definitely go back again and again!
Apparently they also have accommodation and cater for wedding and functions.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacki_PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    107
    31
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quality food”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed overnight on route to the north and ate an evening meal and also breakfast, the food was of excellent quality and plentiful, the host and staff friendly and helpful, the rooms were superb in all aspects and made our stay and dining experience one of the best value for money stays we have had in a long time. Will we re visit ?? Too right we will !!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matelot63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

great place in a quite area, good value for money,excellant food at reasonable prices.would highly recommend. look forward to staying there again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We called in here last Friday lunch time and were welcomed by the very friendly staff. This was our first visit but it will certainly not be the last! The menu is very extensive and the quality of the food is fantastic. Lovely sized portions cooked to perfection served by lovely staff. I had the Fish Platter which I tend to go for in most places where possible, and I must say it was by far the best I have ever had. My wife had the ham which she thoroughly enjoyed. In a nutshell:- Fantastic food served by lovely staff and excellent value for money. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome caring staff”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

I was hopelessly lost and had just driven 7.5hrs in the pouring rain and thunderstorms. The caring attitude and humanity expressed to me by total strangers (the owners) was over welming. Thank you so so so much for helping me in my hour of need. May karma bring you many happy returns.

Helpful?
Thank Nikstar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Oak Tree also viewed

Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Old Oak Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing