We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laburnum House Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Thirsk
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Black Swan Inn(Thornton-le-Moor)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solberge Hall Hotel(Newby Wiske)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Lion Hotel(Northallerton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveler rating
353
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
353
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bhome from homefresh fruitoff road parkingnothing is too much troubleguest housesmoked salmonno probsfull englishwarm welcometraining courselocal knowledgegreek yogurtvisiting thirskbiscuitsplaces of interestsecond to none
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 358 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this delightful B&B. The room was clean and modern with all the facilities you needed. Val & Lee the hosts were extremely attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel most welcome as soon as we arrived and that attentive caring nature continued throughout our stay.
The breakfast was absolutely delicious with such a wide variety of choice from fresh fruit to a full English. This is certainly one of the best B&B we have visited and would certainly recommend it to anyone. It was a real joy to meet people who cared so much about the welfare of their guests as well as the accommodation they provide. A real gem

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A holiday in Yorkshire and what a holiday it was. The county of Yorkshire is the largest in England and offers a diversity of landscape. The county is truly a painters, photographers, walkers and motorists delight for the roads are good. The vast open moors gives a feeling of isolation and one can see how these influenced the writings of the Bronte sisters. The drive across the moors covered with the mauve and white of the heather, sheep grazing which at times wandered onto the roads made this a little precarious. Visiting Goathland, better known as Aidensfield made famous by the BBC series Heartbeat made the day one of interest. The Hole of Horcum was absolutely breathtaking with the heat of the day forming a haze across the moors and one wondered what had occurred to form the landscape in such a way..



Driving through the Dales offered a different visual experience with the valleys a patchwork of colour, with sheep and cattle grazing. Quaint villages with lovely cottage gardens ablaze with colour and hanging baskets made this a delight to behold. The people of Yorkshire must be so proud of their county for they work hard to portray it to perfection.



A visit to Sinnington, a beautiful village with its humped back bridge and lovely stone houses, a walk beside the River Seven, through shady woodland paths and across fields with the blue green of the stalks of corn which had still to ripen and finally a picnic listening to the water as it flowed gently across the river bed made this day one for the memory book. Even here one discovered the history for this had been mentioned in the Doomsday book. During the early medieval period various religious orders, mainly the Benedictines had established granges and a visit to Amblesforth Abbey and walking from Hedlmsly to Rievaulx Abbey gave us more insight to our heritage



The Herriot Museum at Thirsk is a must for all fans of All Creatures Great and Small, The Rysdale Museum depicting earlier times is fascinating and a credit to the craftsmen and people who gave their time freely to establish it. Eden Camp set in an old POW camp.was comprehensive and detailed. The research too t hat went into the display depicting this unhappy period of our history can only be commended



A visit to the Aboretum was so relaxing enjoying the peace and tranquillity of this beautiful setting and finally a visit to the races brought us to the conclusion of our time in Yorkshire. What had made our holiday complete though was our stay at Laburnam House and our hostess Val where nothing was too much trouble from a cheery o you want anything at Tesco" to on returning back to base "Have you had a good day and would you like a cup of tea?"which was always taken up, sitting in the kitchen or the orangery and having a chat. Val would always look to our needs, phoning restaurants at times to ensure that we had a table reservation. All of this on top of excellent accommodation, a house filled with fresh flowers that perfumed the air and gladdened the heart,, the fare which ensured that we were more than ready to meet the day and that we had had our five fruits made thus a perfect holiday.



Thank you, the people of Yorkshire but a special THANK YOU to Val.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A five star B&B. First class accommodation. Val the hostest is most attentive from providing a feast of fruits for breakfast which includes mango, pineapple, strawberries, blue berries, paw paw hazel nuts, the full Monty if required and kippers - with a variation of the theme. We also found her very helpfull in booking a restaurant, location of watch repairer, getting us an item from Tesco, providing places of interest to visit such as the excellent Eden Camp (former prisoner of war camp), the Bronte Trail and walks we would enjoy. Laburnham House is a short walk into Thirsk Town and is very central for touring the Moors and such lovely villages as Helmsley (visit the bargain Edinburgh Wollen Mill shop. Val is always interesting in having a chap in her newly built orangery. We will return

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobRoy034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed one night at Laburnum House while visiting Deer Shed festival nearby, as we were both too pregnant to stay on the campsite. Nothing was too much trouble for Val, who made sure we had everything we needed. The room was immaculate, the bathroom well-stocked with toiletries, and the beds very comfortable. Fresh fruit and a cooked breakfast in the morning - absolutely lovely. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Revisted again this year and another fantastic stay. Absolutely spotless. Quality through and through. Nothing too much trouble for Val. The bathrooms are well equipped and again immaculate and spotlessly clean, with quality fittings. Free fast wifi too. What more do you need?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews