We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tracy's favourite B & B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laburnum House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Val & Lee are charming hosts. They are warm, friendly & chatty. My husband and I have stayed before so we expected to be welcomed back but this time we had my father with us and he was fully included in their hospitality. The breakfasts were scrummy - fresh fruit to start and we followed with smoked salmon, kippers and smoked haddock rather than the traditional full English (although this was available and was enjoyed by other guests) Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely decor and the rooms are spotless throughout. Comfy beds with 'real' continental quilts. We will be back as it is the ideal place for us to stay when we visit family in Thirsk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anneHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 353 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Excellent rooms, a warm welcome from the lovely people who run Laburnum House and a fantastic breakfast of fresh fruit, smoked salmon and eggs. The house is spotlessly clean and the service warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spencerljs81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were struggeling to find accommodation at short notice when this B&B became available due to a cancellation. What luck. Such a welcome we were overwhelmed. We did not find anything to critisize, very clean and comfortable, excellent room and then an excellent breakfast as well. What more could you want - well nothing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllenP668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

What a lovely, welcoming couple! Val and Lee made us feel very much at home with their warm but non-intrusive welcome. There were lots of thoughtful touches, like fruit in the guests' fridge for example. Immaculately clean throughout and very tastefully furnished and decorated. The bed was very comfortable. Our breakfast was delicious too. We could not think of any way in which our stay could be better!

Thirsk is a 10 minute stroll away and is a quaint little town.

Thank you Val and Lee.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great B&B with excellent rooms and a generous breakfast. Val is a wonderful host with great local knowledge. The home is beautifully furnished and rooms well appointed. The town centre with its pubs and shops iis only a short walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelwithDandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a two night stay at Laburnum House. On our arrival we received a warm welcome from Lee and Val and were immediately made to feel at home. Throughout our stay we received the highest levels of hospitality and consideration in terms of our comfort and personal requirements. Our double en-suite room was very clean, comfortable and furnished in a modern style. Our delicious cooked breakfasts were prepared to order and a range juices, fruit, cereals and yogurt were also available if required. Having thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this, one of best B&B’s we have encountered in our many years of returning to Yorkshire to visit family, we have already booked for next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this wonderful B&B and everytime the welcome is warm . The accommodation itself is of an extremely high standard, with excellent service provided throughout our stay. The daily breakfast selection is superb and all wonderfully fresh and extremely appetising. I would recommend this popular B&B to anyone wanting to stay in and around the Thirsk area, you would be hard pushed to find one better. Your hosts will make you feel right at home from the beginning to the end of your stay. We will definitely be stopping here again in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.6 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
2.1 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
0.6 mi away
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laburnum House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laburnum House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 31 Topcliffe Road | Sowerby, Thirsk YO7 1RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range: $53 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello my name is Val and I am the proud owner of laburnum house, a deceptively spacious home with contemporary furnishings, overlooking the Hambleton Hills.I am a Yorkshire lass born and bred, and have lived in the area for 55 years so i have good local knowledge. I can recommend places to visit, where to dine, and wonderful walks – as i am a keen walker myself. I am also passionate about Yorkshire!The house is very deceiving from the outside as you will see. There is a new toilet and hand basin downstairs, the guests dining room is large and beautifully furnished, with a fridge, and adjoining the dining room is a new bespoke orangery just finished in time for spring 2013. It is fully furnished with 3 and 2 seater settee and matching armchair and large footstool, 42″ flat TV, Roberts CD/radio player, and also a selection of board games and good reading.There are 3 rooms – 2 double rooms with ensuite, all newly decorated and large flat screen TVs. And a twin room, with remote control Tempur beds and a new bathroom with shower just a few steps over the landing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing