We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laburnum house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laburnum House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Laburnum house”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Very nice area and close to thirsk village. Bnb was nice however lack of cleaning in the rooms, was not given clean towels. Spacious bedrooms however tv had poor signal and general appliances did not work. Would be better if there was an area to relax in. When questioning the price per night owner took it to heart as the price is doubled per night for 2. We had to reassure her we was going to pay and then she made us leave early.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie W, Owner at Laburnum House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
i feel absoloutley gutted that i should have to respond to this review,the truth of the matter is that phillip j and his girlfriend alice came to stay at laburnum house as they were attending a skills course nearby.after staying two days they asked about the price,in which we told them it was £70per night.they replyed they get somwhere in london for that price.during room service they left there room in a disgusting state,i felt really intimadated and had to ask peter who is the boss of skills to come and see the mess they had left.at that point they were asked to leave,every other guest that has been to labunum house has loved there stay,thats why it is odd 21 excellent reviews and 1 poor from a couple who are bitter for being removed from our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
105
31
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

You will not find a more accommodating, interesting and delightful host than Val and her partner Lee cooks a mean breakfast. Our room was just perfect - everything we needed and spotlessly clean. Val goes to a lot of trouble to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need. She is an amazing person who should write a book about her experiences and she has made her latest project of a bed and breakfast a luxurious retreat for all who stay there. Highly recommend this place in a very lovely part of the world.

Room Tip: You would find that every room is amazing and spotlessly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we pulled into the drive. Val and Lee were brilliant hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Spotlessly clean, breakfast was first class with lots of choice. We would definately recommend Laburnham House.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJW74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I have been a weekly guest at Laburnum House since January 2011. The accommodation, food and Val, the owner, are delightful. Val works hard to ensure that guests are happy and extremely comfortable, nothing is too much trouble. The house has been extensively refurbished, ensuite bathrooms are luxurious and the whole house is extremely well cared for. You could not ask for a nicer place to stay in Thirsk or the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Speak directly to Val and advise her of your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yorkshire186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Well what to say? Words alone can not describe the experience of our stay at Laburnum House. We went for a weekend break as I am due to have surgery any time. What fantastic hosts Val and Lee are, more like friends. We started off in the double room with en-suite, but I had a rough night due to pain and didn't sleep very well, when we said we may have to leave we were asked if we would like to move into the double room with tempur adjustable beds and wow, what a fantastic nights sleep I had, thanks millions you two, breakfast was to die for cooked by the fair hands of Lee, all fresh with no expense spared, fresh fruit, full english, or whatever you liked, cereals you name it, the decor is really nice and fresh and the bedding and towels smell so nice, there are even toiletries supplied. We really loved our stay and will be back without a doubt.

Room Tip: we found the front double the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frodo260865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Fantastic B&B home from home. Rooms are top notch ,breakfast is second to none .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

After travelling 3hrs up to Thirsk and working for several hours all i needed was to hit the accommodation and relax. WOW. A fantastic property, much better than the web-site images as the landlady (Val) has done so much work in 12 months she was telling me. And it showed, clean, welcoming and a really relaxed and happy environment.

My room was bright and everything was clean, the bathroom was of the highest quality fittings. Tea, coffee and biscuits were laid on in the room along with plenty of local reading literature.

After a great nights sleep, a fabulous breakfast was laid on with plenty of refills, a bright and fresh breakfast area with a open plan conservatory led onto a well presented relaxation area at the rear of the property.

I will be definitely be using this establishment again and Laburnum House is a credit to Val. Thank you and see you soon.

I would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Thirsk.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonyWarriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
0.6 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
910 reviews
1.7 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
9.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
1.2 mi away
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laburnum House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laburnum House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Laburnum House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 31 Topcliffe Road | Sowerby, Thirsk YO7 1RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello my name is Val and I am the proud owner of laburnum house, a deceptively spacious home with contemporary furnishings, overlooking the Hambleton Hills.I am a Yorkshire lass born and bred, and have lived in the area for 55 years so i have good local knowledge. I can recommend places to visit, where to dine, and wonderful walks – as i am a keen walker myself. I am also passionate about Yorkshire!The house is very deceiving from the outside as you will see. There is a new toilet and hand basin downstairs, the guests dining room is large and beautifully furnished, with a fridge, and adjoining the dining room is a new bespoke orangery just finished in time for spring 2013. It is fully furnished with 3 and 2 seater settee and matching armchair and large footstool, 42″ flat TV, Roberts CD/radio player, and also a selection of board games and good reading.There are 3 rooms – 2 double rooms with ensuite, all newly decorated and large flat screen TVs. And a twin room, with remote control Tempur beds and a new bathroom with shower just a few steps over the landing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing