We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Panoramic View in the Country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Horse of Kilburn

White Horse of Kilburn
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.70*
and up
Private North York Moors and Whitby Day Trip from Leeds
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Panoramic View in the Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a cold May day but with huge rain storms all around. The view across the Vale of York is fantastic. There are walks in every direction and we were amazed by the visitor centre. Only opened last year (May 2012) it is very interactive for both adults and children. A must for anyone trying to get a flavour of North Yorkshire

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yorkcity72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    85
    19
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hull, East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, worth the climb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

As in a previous review, park at the bottom of the white horse, not the visitor centre, It was free and there are a few picnic tables available if you want to use them.
Firstly, wear good walking boots/footwear. Secondly, from the car park at the foot of the horse you would struggle to get a good impression of it but its certainly worth the climb! It's 151 very steep steps up to the top and yes I did stop momentarily to catch my breath half way up! There is a bench at the top which allows you to recover but wow! it was worth the effort. The view is absolutely worth the effort getting up there. Yes the horse is a bit tatty these days and doesn't look it's best close up but forget the horse, take in the view, its wonderful. If you follow the footpath along the out crop it takes you past the hand gliding club so I summise you would get excellent views of them taking off up there, unfortunately not the day we were there. Keep following the path until you come to yet another couple of benches and a red arrow pointing down a track. At this point you can continue to take the cliff top route or follow the track. We took the track down. It has hand rails so far down but then they disappear and your on your own. It can be quite steep in parts so again good footwear is best. As you descend it starts to level out into a lovely walk through the woods back to the car park. Its a well trodden path so you can't get lost! It's about a mile and half walk and well worth taking an hour or so out to experience the views from the top. Both myself and husband are not experiences walkers, more site-seers and we loved it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Galdiator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“nice walk from sutton bank”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

we parked the car at the visitor centre at the top of sutton bank ( £4 parking ), after crossing the road turn left, and its a easy walk towards kilburn, the white horse isnt that impressive to be fair and it does need some money spending on it, the best way to view it, is to take a walk into kilburn itself and view it from afar, on the way back we walked through kilburn woods and then walked up sutton bank back to the car. its a nice walk and you get some great views of cleveland

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oatesyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not that great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

It looks good from a far but close up it is tatty and in need of some revamping. The walk to the site is nice with lovely views.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice walk.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you don't mind climbing hills it's worth the walk just for the view. You can get to the Horse from Sutton Bank if you're not keen on climbing!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Horse of Kilburn also viewed

 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to White Horse of Kilburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing