We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic guesthouse in the middle of Thirsk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fourways Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A warm welcome from Mark as I arrived. His local knowledge is good and nothing was too much trouble. Fourways is under new ownership and is gradually being renovated over the next few months. Although tired in its décor (only as it still needs it's makeover) my room was warm, clean and comfortable with everything I needed for my stay. The linen was clean and the bed very comfy. Breakfast was a full English of substantial proportions. I thoroughly recommend this guesthouse, it is just a few minutes walk away from the town centre which has many independent shops including one of the oldest sweet shops in the country and of course the Herriot museum. It also has some highly recommended eateries. As new owners Mark and Nikki have grand plans for this guest house and I look forward to seeing the results on my next stay hopefully later this year, just hope they can fit me in!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank YorkshireGal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 87 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have just returned home from a lovely weekend at Thirsk for the Races. There were 8 of us that stayed at Fourways Guesthouse for a 2 night stay and i cannot speak highly enough of the new owners. We were warmly greeted on arrival by Mark and shown to our rooms which were all clean tidy and comfortable. They have a lovely new decking area which due to the fantastic weather we had we were able to get a lot of use from. They even have a new BBQ area which is something that i would love to use if we are able to make a return visit. Nothing is too much trouble for Mark or Nikki, even when one of our party managed to lock themselves out of their room at half 11 at night. All in all this is a lovely guesthouse and they have made vast improvements in the short time they have owned it and we will definitely stay here again in the future should we make any return visits to Thisk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SarahT1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Warm welcome from friendly, helpful hosts. Lovely, clean rooms and great full English breakfast. Would definitely go back if in area again. Mark and Nikki have just taken over and are doing some improvements. They phoned us in advance to inform us and gave us a welcoming gift to compensate for rewiring just done to room and lack of renewed paint. It did not spoil our enjoyment one bit and we thought they were very thoughtful in letting us know in advance

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned from a last minute 1 night stay at the Fourways Guesthouse. We arrived late due to work committments, this was no problem to Mark and Nikki who had the room kept cool and fresh milk ready. We had a family room (double with bunkbeds) which was spacious enough. We departed early as we were heading to the Great Yorkshire Show, again not a problem to the hosts who provided a full English breakfast when we requested. They even went that extra mile and checked travel information for our journey to the show. We will definitely return here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wighams1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at Fourways Guesthouse. We were given a very friendly welcome by Mark when we arrived and this made us feel very much at ease. The room was basic but comfortable. I understand that Mark and Niki have recently taken over the B & B and they are in the process of making improvements. The full English was very tasty with good quality ingredients. Both Mark and Niki went the extra mile for us: helping us to locate parking, bringing us fresh milk which had been kept cool in a thermos in their freezer. We would definitely return if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarac911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Acredito que sejam todos no mesmo estilo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SuzaneCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiagall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
0.2 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
1.9 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
12.4 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kirkgate House Hotel
Kirkgate House Hotel
#15 of 23 in Thirsk
97 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Oak Tree Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourways Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourways Guesthouse

Address: Town End, Thirsk YO7 1PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range: $85 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fourways Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fourways Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing