We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Henna Spice Lounge

Henna Spice Lounge
Ranked #11 of 68 Restaurants in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We found this place by chance whilst returning from a day trip to the east coast. The menu is a mixture of authentic Bangladeshi and fusion food and is just as good as the old Bollywood Lounge in Ripon. It turned out it has the same owners! The lamb magura was absolutely delightful. The staff are very polite and attentive without being overbearing. We will go again and highly recommend that you do the same.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank SteveCawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    48
    14
    2
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely food but service and decor needs improving”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spent the weekend in Thirsk with hubby and friends and picked Henna Spice to eat on our second night after seeing some good reviews on TripAdvisor. The food is lovely - good portions, well cooked and plenty of flavour, can't fault it. The decor is perhaps a little dated with some artificial flowers and strange lighting but if the food is good that's not a major issue. However I do think the service standards need looking at. After we were seated we had to wait a long time until our drink and food order was taken (and that was only after telling a waiter to was stood talking at the bar that we were ready to order) even though the place wasn't even half full. Must say the chef coming out of the kitchen to see if we had like our meals was a nice touch. Big issue was that the waiter then wanted to start clearing away before all our party had finished eating which isn't nice and makes people feel rushed. Overall the service and restaurant lets the tasty food down - get the service right and we'd be back, otherwise we'll try somewhere else next time we're in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GertieSquirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wake up your taste buds”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We first found this little gem on the way back home from the Yorkshire show. It was so tasty we had to make a de-tour when coming back from York at the weekend. The service was very good but not over bearing while the starters and main courses from the chef specials menu are quite unique and not the usual fare you'd get from an Indian Restaurant but all tasted fantastic.
Well worth the de-tour.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank JoseyMckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food - shame about Basil Fawlty!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The food here is superb & very authentic. It's not many places the chef comes out and recommends & then afterwards comes back to ask how it was. As for the waiting staff & manager it was just bizarre. Felt we were being shouted at by Mr Fawlty himself. Cheer up!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A_V_P_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First time but certainly not the last.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lovely night, made very welcome and the food was excellent. Well worth a visit the staff were very friendly and helpful. We will most definitely go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henna Spice Lounge also viewed

Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Henna Spice Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing