We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best soup ever!”

Upstairs Downstairs Tearooms Deli & Sandwich Bar
Ranked #5 of 68 Restaurants in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best soup ever!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stopped here for a quick bite as we were traveling through Thirsk. What a lucky find it was. We opted for the soup and sandwich. The egg salad (egg and mayonnaise) was fresh and bountiful but the soup was the star of the show. It was a puréed vegetable with such flavors, texture and aroma that all the senses were delighted. The chef was nice enough to share his recipe and when we return home I'll try and recreate it but he definitely has the perfect touch. Yum!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    39
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stopped here on our way to our holiday accommodation. If we had not seen this recommended on Trip Advisor I doubt we would have found it and if we had from the outside would probably have decided to visit another café.

Please do not be put off by its' outside appearance - we are really glad we did visit this café for lunch, we were made to feel very welcome and although we just had the sandwiches, they were really good sandwiches accompanied by a significant side salad. Service was friendly and efficient and I would highly recommend this little café.

It was very good value for money

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Excellent attentive service. Great atmosphere with fresh, well prepared home cooking. Give it a visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnor42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We eat here often and although it is on our doorstep have to say it serves some of the best food we have ever tasted. And it does so at the most reasonable prices. The food is always specially prepared and the service always beyond reproach. If you are looking for a lunch time meal in Thirsk this is the place to go.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRWThirsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Upsairs...Breakfasts are tasty and good value for money. There is tea bread and other alternatives if you don't want a cooked version.Vast menu available for lunch and afternoon tea.Downstairs... Deli has a vast range of cheeses on offer which you can have a taster sample on request. Hams, salads, bread, biscuits all on sale some which will get your tastebuds going! Service good and takeaway service available at back of deli for rolls and hot food. Very popular with local people and tourists alike.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foxyladypmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs Downstairs Tearooms Deli & Sandwich Bar also viewed

Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Upstairs Downstairs Tearooms Deli & Sandwich Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing