We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brilliant little hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A brilliant little hotel ”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We booked a night here with our two boisterous children and we were not disappointed. The hotel was immaculate, the rooms cosy and comfortable, the bed was enormous and afforded a brilliant sleep! Breakfast was tasty, well cooked and relaxed. The price at £80 for a family of 4 with breakfast was definitely worthwhile.
The only negative was the slow service at dinner but the quality of the food and the friendliness of the staff made up for it!
A five star night !

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellonearth1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    79
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
73
162
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
189 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

This is superb in every way From the moment you arrive you are made to feel special and welcomed by Rob and Sharon the managers. The Angel has style class and service of great quality.spacious and very clean with plenty of seating from the bar area throughout to little lounge areas with comfortable sofas. Whole atmosphere is comfortable and easy The dining area well thought out and roomy. We had evening meal and it was superbly presented with quality food cooked to perfection. Bedrooms fresh clean and en suite comfy beds and with all amenities Breakfasts quality fresh cooked ingredients and plenty of choices. The stars of this show are the team absolutely first class and all working together to make sure your stay is superb Our thanks to Kat, for your tireless attention to detail in making us feel welcome and ensuring we had everything we needed without being intrusive and also to Sal and Nat You are all first class and do a brilliant job. Great team, very smart and just the right sense of humour and personal touches to make your stay special A big thank you to you all and the Angel for a delightful stay. Many thanks Rita & Graham

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank artdeco61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

The Outside of this building simply doesn't give a true representation of this place! Although I will add the Gardens were amazing, just the rain put me off slightly! Is absolutely stunning inside, so comfortable, and clean and everything you need for an overnight stay is there! Food was lovely & staff simply couldn't do enough for you. Thanks for a superb stay I'll be back when I'm back in that neck of the woods!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielleB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

stayed here 2 years ago on business, I have just had 2 nights stay at the newly refurbished Angel Hotel, the whole place has had an amazing facelift which has been done so tastefully, the rooms were spotless well designed and the beds amazing, the staff were so friendly the food lovely and well priced, but the best part of my stay was the full English breakfast cooked to order and served by the lovely Kat, thank you for making my stay with you a pleasure, I will be back!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

WOW - this is such a beautiful place to stay! We attended a wedding at the Crab & Lobster just down the road, so didn't really make full use of all the facilities, but the time we did spend there was incredible.
The welcome at reception by Kat and the team was lovely - we were able to leave our bags and grab a quick drink before the wedding. We then weren't back there until early hours of the morning as we were at the wedding. Your room key allows you to get into the residents entrance which was great and no hassle!
I am really glad we made it to breakfast the following morning as this was just delish! A choice of continental items and hot breakfast cooked to order - lovely wide selection. Kat was so welcoming and had a good chat with us all, made us feel very welcome, as did the new girl who had just started that week (sorry I don't remember her name).
I work at a 5* hotel and know how high standards have to be and this really was fantastic. It was VERY clean, all the staff were super friendly and the rooms were very modern - such a comfy bed which is just what we needed after all the wedding dancing :-)

Thank you to everyone that made our stay so lovely, we would HIGHLY recommend a visit to The Angel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelsBels88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

From day one all ..friendly. helpful ..service first class been an excellent stay many more weeks to come
.special thanks to our two little ladies Natalie and Claire and the cracker jack at breakfast. Thank you all

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addicte a Barcelona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I can't remember when I was last made to feel so welcome in a hotel!

I stayed 2 nights. I'd booked months earlier, and they'd transferred to an automated booking system in the meantime. I'm guessing the transition wasn't smooth and I had a little difficulty checking in, but Greg was wonderful sorting it out, and he did so with a minimum of fuss and inconvenience to me. I ate at the Angel on the first night, and both food and service were spot on. My room was small but well-appointed. The (free) wifi worked well, the bed was very good, and breakfast was excellent. What most stood out for me was that nothing was too much trouble, and I include the cleaning staff in that. Everyone was genuinely interested in you and wanting to help. A member of staff also called me a cab on her personal mobile because the landline was busy...

If I'm back in the area, there's no question I'll stay again. It was a pleasure. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floodbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
4.2 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
5.0 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
11.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
14.8 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel

Property: The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Address: Long Street | Topcliffe, Thirsk YO7 3RW, England (Formerly The Angel Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As well as being a great place for a relaxed meal or celebration, the Angel is also a great place to get away for the weekend: with stylish bedrooms, great food & drink and the whole of North Yorkshire to keep you busy during the day what more could you want? Our location, within easy reach of both the A1 and A19, also makes us a good base for anyone travelling for business. Our warm village-pub atmosphere and friendly welcome also help to make your time away from home a bit more pleasant (and productive!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Thirsk
Your Hotel The Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing