We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A regular treat for us!”

Hung Moey Chinese Restaurant & Takeaway
Ranked #25 of 68 Restaurants in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A regular treat for us!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We quite often get a takeaway from Hung Moey, once every couple of weeks. The food always being consistently great.
We have also eaten in the restaurant just the once. We were happy with our visit, although the restaurant could probably do with an update in the decor department.
Prices are reasonable and staff always friendly. Even when they are busy, they always get the orders out in a fast time. They usually say 20mins, though ours has always been ready quicker than this.
The only negative thing I will say, is they don't keep their cans of pop in the fridge. Other than that, spot on!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    43
    19
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Menu Choice food lacking in taste”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Not the best, eat here because on a Sunday most places in Thirsk are closed. I chose a chow mein, but it was made with what appear to be tagliatelle not normal chow mein noodles and the char sui was not bbq'd but simple roast pork which was very fatty indeed, I only had one piece that didn't contain any fat that i couldn't chew. The oyster sauce was also very tasteless. Also had prawn toast which was better, but the oil could be tasted.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank catkitty7841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A regular venue for us”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We frequently eat here as the food is excellent and the service is good. My son particularly likes their mixed grill. We last visited on May 29th. My husband had the duck with beanshoots and said it was delicious. He was surprised at the large portion of duck. I had the chicken fried rice, a favourite of mine. It is not cheap but I still think it is value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwalk143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Very good value luncheon menu with good quality satisfying dishes”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We visited the takeaway section on Wed 22 May and were very impressed with the succulent and high quality Special Curry and rice.
The next day we had a wonderful luncheon menu with good value,nutritious and well-presented Chicken and sweetcorn soup, Prawn and Pineapple and Vegetable Chow Mein-and banana fritter and syrup,all for £ 6.95. Nicely served. Thoroughly excellent

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paddington18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Went hear, got 2 meals, an extra chips, and some prawncrackers, nearly £20. We felt this was quite expensive. This may be because there are a lot of Chinese restaurants by us so need to be competitive and this was the only one we saw in Thirsk. Food was average, nothing amazing. Would certainly go again, just price was a bit much. Staff very friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hung Moey Chinese Restaurant & Takeaway also viewed

Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Hung Moey Chinese Restaurant & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing