We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try queing up for a take out!”

Hung Moey Chinese Restaurant & Takeaway
Ranked #22 of 68 Restaurants in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Try queing up for a take out!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This chineese restruant is very popular,because the food is very well cooked and presented,although a little more expensive than you would expect.Eating in is good,and you are nicely spaced out, its popular take away service sometimes leaves you waiting for an hour to get your order.i prefer not to wait that long, but where else can you get a decent chineese in a rural yorkshire village. it is lovely once you get it home.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tonzer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    43
    19
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very pleasant...”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We wanted a local restaurant so that we could walk home after a drink or 2. After a very bad experience at the chain pub next door we really didn't want to go there for our wedding anniversary. Having checked Trip Advisor and reading the reviews for this place, we tried it. And we're very pleased that we did! The atmosphere is nice, the food is gorgeous (huge portion sizes) and the service very friendly. £40 for 2 courses and a bottle of wine- very reasonable too! We will be returning with our friends to this restaurant in the very near future!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clarewleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Visited Restaurant after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. Small Restaurant at rear of takeaway. Selected set meal for two. Food was beautiful especially the Lamb in sweet chilli sauce wraps that come as a starter. Service was very good, staff very attentive. Good value and would recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Terence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

best chinese we have been to for both food quality and value for money.friendly and efficient staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiecat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This place saved my life after a hideous ordeal at the well know chained pub next door. After waiting for my ' microwave curry' for 1.30 hours I gave up and smelt the Chinese..... 10 minutes later it was there. super service, super food. Superstars.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hung Moey Chinese Restaurant & Takeaway also viewed

Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Hung Moey Chinese Restaurant & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing