We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Moor and Pheasant

Moor and Pheasant
Ranked #25 of 68 Restaurants in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $14
Cuisines: British, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Moor & Pheasant Country Pub & Carvery is open Wednesday to Sunday. We serve great value traditional roasts, family favourites like Steak & Ale pie and veggie curries along with a great selection of desserts to tempt those of you with a sweet tooth. Mains are all just £8.95 (Children's Portions £4.95), desserts are just £2.95, and we've a great value wine list to match so you can treat the whole family without breaking the bank! There's no need to make a reservation, however if you are planning to come with a larger group (above 6) it might be a good idea to call ahead so we can get a table ready for you. We always try to cater for those with allergies, however it is much easier if you can let us know before you visit as that gives us a chance to prepare something special!
Wakefield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Moor & Pheasant , Dalton, North Yorkshire

After listening to friends and family rave about the quality of service and food at this North Yorks pub/restaurant my wife & I decided it was time to try it out.
We live in Wakefield yet our oldest son lives in Thirsk so for his birthday we decided to book for Sunday lunch (dads treat) so along with their two year old off we went for Sunday lunch.
At first we thought we would never get there as the road in the middle of Dalton was closed for road works so a lengthy detour was made. We were not disappointed when we got there, a really charming place with a rustic but very welcoming feel, the staff were really pleasant and could not do enough for us and so many of them, a real treat in these days of cut backs ect.
The food was very good indeed, we all had a different starter and none of us were disappointed , as for the mains we all chose the roast beef which was again good, as for desert ......... Well I will let you try this and decide for your self ( you will not be disappointed )
Overall very good indeed and exactly in line with friends and family comments to us, well worth going..... What are you waiting for get booked!!

Helpful?
Thank Robin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moor_Pheasant, General Manager at Moor and Pheasant, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. Very pleasing to hear you chose The Moor and Pheasant for your sons birthday meal! I'm glad that you and your family enjoyed every part of your experience. We do hope to see you all again next time you're in Thirsk... and hopefully no detours!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    55
    19
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening meal.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The pub was warm and inviting, the staff welcoming and friendly. The food was well presented and reasonably priced. We enjoyed our evening meal and would go back again next time we are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachhut43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moor_Pheasant, General Manager at Moor and Pheasant, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your evening with us at the Moor and Pheasant.
Look forward to your next visit with your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and i went here for an evening meal with our daughter & boyfriend after it was recommended to us , and i`m glad we did , we were staying at the Woodland Lakes Thirsk and followed our sat nav to find it , ( 13 mins away ) as soon as we arrived i was impressed with the appearance of the place and even more impressed when we entered , it has open fires a cosey atmosphere and nice decor , plenty of beers to choose from including hand pulled ales , this place is more suited to eating than drinking with most of the seating area used for dining , and i can see why cos the food was fantastic , all 4 of us having starters , mains and afters , all being of high quality , this isn`t your regular pub food they must have a good talented chef , the presentation and the tastes were fantastic and at a good price too .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FunkyPhil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moor_Pheasant, General Manager at Moor and Pheasant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Big thanks for your amazing review. It is fantastic to hear that people are travelling from further a field on recommendations of others. We are well known for our food here at The Moor and Pheasant, but is also lovely to hear you liked our choice of beers too. We aim to please all of our customers whether dining or drinking. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed every part of your experience and we hope you tell more of your friends and family about us! Look forward to the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“NEW YEARS EVE DINNER”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Have visited several times for both lunch and dinner. The New Years Eve Dinner was fantastic both the ambience and the food. The room was beautifully decorated and the evening started with canapes and champagne for everyone. Dinner - big round table for eight and food was excellent. Only slight niggle was that we had to pre order the food pre Christmas and on the evening I would have preferred a different choice but no matter. Disco afterwards that had everybody up dancing and the whole room chatting and laughing together made for a memorable night. Staff were fantastic and accommodating and we left the car there and were driven home by staff to Dalton village. A great start to 2013!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moor_Pheasant, General Manager at Moor and Pheasant, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Always great to read such a fantastic review. It is lovely to hear you had such a good time seing in 2013 with us at The Moor and Pheasant. We feel the night was a big success for both customers and staff and was very enjoyable. Thank you for noticing our decorations. I must say, it looks rather bare without them now!

Apologies for you having to pre order your meals in advance. This is so we are able to give our customers a choice on the menu as opposed to a set meal. We are extremely busy over the festive period and this organised method is a way we can assure both food and service run smoothly.

Thanks again, we look forward to your next visit with more of your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“CHRISTMAS LUNCH”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Christmas lunch was the latest of several visits to this country pub. Could not fault the food or the service. Excellent atmosphere with very friendly staff and a maitre D who was really on the ball. Will definitely return shortly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krisholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moor_Pheasant, General Manager at Moor and Pheasant, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
It is fantastic to hear that you had a great experience with us on Christmas day. We would like to thank you for choosing to dine with us on such a special day. Looking forward to seing you again in the new year. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moor and Pheasant also viewed

 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Easingwold, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Moor and Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing