We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and authentic yorkshire hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Fleece Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at the Fleece in Thirsk on the 12th September and found it one of the most welcoming and comfortable and unfussy hotels I have stayed in.
The staff are friendly and the food excellent both dinner and fine yorkshire breakfast.
I cannot recommend too highly

Michael B

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear and on the second or top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel on the past two August bank holidays for a forces reunion this hotel with out question is the best hotel Ive stayed in the UK.
The food and the service are out standing the staff do their best to make your stay a good one and nothing is too much trouble for them. members of the party I was with have booked rooms for next year not one member of the reunion about 40 of us could not fault it we will all be returning and I would like to thank Joanne and all her team for a fantastic stay + the fantastic food and well kept bar etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just stayed for the second time in the Golden Fleece for another 3 great nights on another reunion organised there.
Another great stay made of course by the company we were with but not just those attending the reunion, the staff there were great, nothing too much trouble, service with a smile all the time. We were well catered for in all ways, food was excellent at all meals and they staff coped no problem on our main event meal on the Saturday evening serving everyone very quickly with a hot, plentiful meal.
Did we enjoy it? Yes we did, we were booking for next year before we left - can't wait to go back!
Any complaints, just one slight grumble the water pressure in a few of the rooms was low, hopefully that will be sorted for next year too!
Thanks again for an excellent stay and looking after us all so well.

Room Tip: If staying on a night before the market, ask for a room in the back if you are a light sleeper, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unistart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the golden fleece for one night and wished we could have stayed longer but unfortunately the hotel was full the following night. We stayed in the stables white which has it s one small sitting area. Very comfy. The bedroom was lovely very well equipt. The dinner was fabulous with substantial portions. The breakfast was a little cisappointing we thought there could have been more choice eg croissants and a variety of breads. The cereals also were limited having said all that the staff were great both in the restaurant and reception.would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: The stables suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I recently visited this hotel with my sister and elderly mum and we had booked bed and breakfast for three nights. On arrival we decided to have our evening meal there and were not disappointed. We did not order a starter (fortunately as it turned out the main courses were huge). The fish and chips were delicious, but were unable to finish them as there was too much. As a result, however, we decided to eat there for the following two nights as well, and everything we had was well presented and well cooked. The breakfast is as you would expect, Cereal, fruit, yoghurt etc and a Full English as well. Our rooms were in the mews at the back of the hotel. They were spotlessly clean and the one that my sister and I shared was very roomy, with an ensuite and walk in shower. I enjoyed it so much, that I am going again in a few months and taking my hubby with me. A two night stay for two people with dinner, bed and breakfast is £210.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Visited here by chance looking for a meal. Early Bird - £8.50 - 4 different veg. plus potatoes and generous portion of meat. Friendly staff and Black Sheep beer. Served in a pleasant bar with racing memorablia. Well worth leaving the A1 for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Britainabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked rooms for more than a dozen of us some months ahead and though out the process, the staff were excellent and very helpful with nothing being too much trouble. The hotel looks like a traditional town centre coaching inn that has been there from a bygone age. The rooms were large with a genuine 4 poster bed in room 4 overlooking the town square, but still very quite through the night. The hotel has a large car park in the rear so is very convenient if you arrive by car. Yes there are a few creaks in the floor boards as you would expect from this type of building, but it is clean, the food and breakfast very good at a very reasonable price and the staff were super - a good base to explore the Yorkshire Dales/Moors.

Room Tip: Worth going for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanandJane0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
4.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
0 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 5 in Thirsk
488 reviews
1.8 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
744 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
833 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece Hotel

Address: 42 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range: $103 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Fleece Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Golden Fleece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Thirsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing