We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Fleece Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

just come back from a weekend birthday break and have a few things to say about this hotel, it was very clean had a comfy bed trouser press in room not up to much but thats neither here nor there, room we stayed in could do with decorating grubby wallpaper and peeling from the wall kinda spoilt the rest of the hotel but not our stay here, staff really friendly but just felt there was no atmosphere at this hotel, they seem to cater more for the older visitors, we didnt dine in this hotel apart from breakfast as we had booked a table in here for saturday night and were told they had a function on so we were to be dining in a very small room sitting on a settee at the table so decided to go elsewhere, we stayed in room 8 which was a bonus for me being a smoker i was able to go straight out the fire exit without any problems, market was on a saturday right outside the hotel but it wasnt anything to get excited about, went on a pub crawl round thirsk town but the best pub to visit was the three tunns right next door to the golden fleece very lively and brill atmosphere two nights here was enough for us all in all wont be visiting again

Room Tip: hotel rooms at the front can be noisy on market day, if you are a smoker try getting a room near a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

905 - 911 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We wandered into this hotel around 5pm on a Tuesday evening to see if there was a room available. A lovely girl on reception dealt with our last minute enquiry and found us a four poster room on the first floor. It was very spacious, clean and beautifully furnished and surprisingly good value for money. The bed was extremely comfortable and was quiet, even though it overlooked the old market place at the front of the hotel. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to explore this charming part of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol_farnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just returned from a walking weekend with a group of friends based in the Golden Fleece. Cannot praise the hotel and staff highly enough. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Hotel rooms were very clean as were all the 'public' areas. The bar served two 'real ales' which were well kept and the breakfasts, in the well appointed dining room, set us up for our days in the Dales and on the moors. Being located in the market square all other 'hostelries' are within easy reach and Thirsk itself is very nice. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room at the back of the hotel as, on market days, the stall hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

From the booking in process to the actual stay this was memorable.
The 'Fleece' has a long history and the main building is very quaint.
The rooms are large and full of character some even with 4 poster beds.
The food in the evening was superb and well priced.
Breakfast equally enjoyable.
Situated in THirsk main square and also with the weekly market it is a must visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THECHAMBIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We held our wedding reception here just yesterday, first class cannot fault anything the staff were excellent, the manager spoke to us regarding what we want and how we wanted it. And she exceeded our expectations. The food was excellent and atmosphere perfect. excellent value for money, The room we stayed in was spacious, clean and luxuriousness.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have eaten here before but never stayed , It was just for one night but could not fault anything fantastic food and the staff were excellent. Convenient parking and Thirsk is a very nice town and an ideal place to explore the dales and moors. We will return

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southamptonox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for Ladies day at Thirsk races. Ideal location, 5 mins walk to race course. Room was small but very clean and nice decor. There was a very loud disco directly underneath our room until midnight but a did receive a phone call a week before about this although there was not much I could have done about it at such short notice. However, we laughed about it, it felt like the bed was in the middle of the dance floor !!. Breakfast was fantastic, the dining room is lovely and so charming and full of character as is most of the building. Staff in dinin g room were spot on. Excellent value for money, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Dont have one over the disco room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
4.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
1.8 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 5 in Thirsk
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
738 reviews
24.5 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,524 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece Hotel

Address: 42 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range: $97 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Fleece Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Golden Fleece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Thirsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing