We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An excellent stay”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stopped at Meadowcroft for several months earlier in the year while I was working in the area.
Sue and Simon were great hosts so I stayed with them recently for a short break in the area, bringing the wife this time.

Once again Sue and and Simon were the perfect hosts and it was more like being a member of the family rather as a guest.

We both had a great time and are both looking forward to returning in the near future.
If you are planning to stay in this part of the world I would urge you to stay with Sue and Simon at Meadowcroft.

You will not regret it

P Malone Liverpool

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmalone45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
98
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stopped over at Meadowcroft as I was passing through Thirsk on a cycling trip, and it was the perfect place to stay after a long and tiring day. Sue and Simon gave me a really warm welcome, my room was beautiful and the bed was ridiculously comfortable. I especially appreciated the suggestions for places to eat and drink in Thirsk that Sue and Simon gave me. Breakfast was delicious and just what I needed to set me up for another day on the road. Sue and Simon were especially accommodating with my bike, storing it safely for me and making sure I had it ready when I needed it. Sadly I was only stopping over for one night but hopefully I'll be back to Thirsk and if I am I'll be booking Meadowcroft again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We requested an early check-in, which was not a problem at all. Sue and Simon are a lovely, warm and welcoming couple. The standard of our stay was second to none, breakfast was brilliant, and we could not have asked for a better room. Our requests were met in every way, our only problem was that we could not stay longer due to work commitments however, we hope to return soon. Thank you very much Sue and Simon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A two night stay at the Meadowcroft B&B kicked off our 10-day holiday to North Yorkshire. And what a great start to our holiday!
We received a warm welcome from Sue and were soon settled in the Wharfedale Room. The room was large and extremely well presented and spotlessly clean, with a spacious en-suite facility.
Breakfasts were lovely, with a varied choice, ranging from fruits, cereals, museli and yoghurts, to the lovely traditional Yorkshire breakfast. All accompanied by home-made bread and fresh eggs laid by Sue's own hens.
Sue and Simon run a fine establishment and also gave us some reliable recommendations on places to eat in the evenings.
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandKDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Meadowcroft is an outstanding B&B with new and comfortable furniture, lovingly run by Sue and Simon Porter. They take great pride in making their guests feel welcome and comfortable, while remaining discretely in the background (even though it is their house and we are the guests).

I stayed there for 8 nights in October 2013 and really loved it. I could not find any fault with this B&B. It was very clean, comfortable, and well-maintained. They even have the modern one-faucet sinks, not the old-fashioned separate hot-water and cold-water taps (which I hate). The house was warm and well-lit, with separate emergency lights in each room that would allow you to find your way out in case of an electricity fail. The house always smelled good. All rooms have digital television and DAB radios, as well as free wifi (although not super-fast broadband). And very conveniently, they have a small fridge in the breakfast room for guests to use. Parking space is plenty available next to the house.

Sue and Simon will provide you with the breakfast you desire. The delicious bread they serve for breakfast is home-made and tastes a million times better than the usual (horrible) sandwich stuff you buy in stores. They offer fruit salad and yoghurt if you want some. The eggs come from their own hens that are running free in the garden (= happy hens). You can ask for salmon to go with your eggs, and you can have cooked breakfast too.

I can only highly recommend the Meadowcroft B&B. You will not regret your stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Undy
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I've just spent a couple of nights with Sue & Simon and have returned home more than a little impressed. My room was spotless and well appointed (Skeldale Double) and I had one of the best night's sleep I've enjoyed in a long time, which says something about the quality of the bed!

The breakfasts are to die for; I avoided the tradition Yorkshire breakfast because frankly it looked like way too much food, but the 'vegetarian' option of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs more than sufficed. Sue bakes her own excellent break and also makes her own preserves so couple with the salmon & eggs with some fresh fruit off the sideboard, cereal, yoghurt, toast and jams and I can guarantee you leave the dinning room well satisfied.

A very good B&B run by extremely friendly and approachable people; in my opinion an excellent value for money option.

Room Tip: The Skeldale room was more than adequate as a single traveller, but may be a little cramped for coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Usksider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Thanks to Sue and Simon for being so friendly and hospitable on our short stay in Thirsk. We had lovely breakfasts with lots of fruit as well. They were both very helpful in advising us about places to visit and where to eat in the evenings. We hope to be able to return in the future to them.

Gill and Keith

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.7 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
869 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
451 reviews
1.7 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
0.7 mi away
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast

Property: Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast
Address: 86 Topcliffe Road | Sowerby, Thirsk YO7 1RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowcroft Bed & Breakfast - Luxury Bed and Breakfast situated a short walk from Thirsks' market square. 1930's property retaining many original features - large, mature & well stocked garden for guest use. All our mattresses are from vi-spring - hand made in the uk and are super comfortabe! Ample off street parking on our spacious gated driveway. Free wi-fi for guest use. As far as possible all our breakfast materials are sourced locally. We use fantastic locally sourced bacon, sausages and award winning black pudding. Our breads are all home made using locally milled flour, preserves are made at Meadowcroft using fruit grown in our own gardens. We even have our own 'local producers' - our hens at the bottom of our garden. We cater for special diets and are keen foodies so are willing to meet most requests for unusual breakfast items! Accomodation as follows:1 x superking (Wharfedale) with en-suite bathroom. 40 in wall mounted flatscreen digital tv, digital radio. 1 x double (Skeldale) en-suite with wall mounted digital flatscreen tv/dvd, tivoli audio table top radio. All rooms have well stocked hospitality trays, mineral water and hairdryers, we have a fridge for guest use in our ground floor dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing