We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nantwich Anticipating our return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nantwich Anticipating our return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent two nights at Meadowcroft in the New Year, we were made very welcome by Sue and Simon, the house is set well off the road with a drive upto the front door, a real asset to my disabled husband, nothing was too much trouble, which included homemade vegetarian sausages for breakfast, delicious.The rooms are spacious and tastfully decorated with beds to match any 5star hotel, we anticpate returning in the summer with our two friends who will be on holiday from Australia, really looking forward to the return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyR750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, really glad you both enjoyed your stay with us in January. Its even better that you have booked to return with friends - and rest assured we'll make both them and you most welcome! It is an asset having such a large driveway with plenty of parking, we've found it particularly helpful when guests have a lot of luggage or as you point out - access issues. We're really looking forward to your return in June, fingers crossed for glorious sunshine, but whatever the weather - the welcome will be warm!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
98
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent 2 very comfortable nights at Meadowcroft whilst visiting family in Thirsk.
Sue and Simon were very welcoming and genuinely friendly without ever being overly fussy.
We had a large, warm, comfortable and well-furnished room overlooking the front gardens with plenty of storage space and an ensuite shower room with plenty of towels.
Breakfasts were a treat - plenty of choice and beautifully cooked!

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Meadowcroft to anyone visiting the area and it will definitely be our first choice when we are next visiting Thirsk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks so much for your great review of Meadowcroft. You booked our Wharfedale room - which has a Superking bed with a wonderful Vi-Spring mattress and of course the easy chairs in the bay overlooking our rose garden - maybe next time you visit they'll be in bloom! So glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you both back to Thirsk on your next visit to see your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We so enjoyed our two night stay at Meadowcroft. Whilst the double room that we booked was a little on the tight side (it was the cheapest room), it had all the storage and facilities we needed including an ensuite with a great shower. The room was cosy despite seriously cold weather and the bed was really comfortable. The breakfasts were delightful and we were particularly thrilled to be given Yorkshire loaf and 'real' Wensleydale on our arrival. Beautiful.

Room Tip: If staying more than a night or two, we would advise one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doors37G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We'd be more than happy to accommodate you in one of our lovely large Superking rooms for your next stay. We always try to use local produce and serve Real Yorkshire Wensleydale from the Wensleydale Creamery in Hawes with our Yorkshire Tea loaf. Hope you can both make it back to see us at Meadowcroft and North Yorkshire on your next visit to see your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Visited the meadowcroft bed and breakfast last weekend for the first time, first impressions were warm and nice and rooms I and my friends stayed are beautiful inside. When we arrived at the house on Saturday we were greeted by Simon and Sue who were very welcoming and friendly. They made us feel like home and gave us a lot of information and advise about what to see in York. Their breakfast left me speechless!! I was impressed at the quality of food and I loved those homemade bread and jam. After telling Simon I like it, he gave me a jar of homemade raspberry jam. Thank you Simon and Sue!!! I cannot wait to go back and stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isac3718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review! I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us and despite the very cold weather we were able to make you comfortable and warm. We grow our own rapberries in the garden and I regularly make jams of all sorts - but the rapberry is the most popular by far! We really look forward to you coming back to explore our corner of beautiful North Yorkshire, theres really so much to see and do here! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

An extremely pleasant stay awaits you in this very friendly and helpful B&B. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are well presented with everything you need and the breakfast is something to die for! If you come to Thirsk, STAY HERE!!!..............Thank you Sue and Simon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review - it was lovely have you stay and great we could accommodate your family on saturday too. Hope you enjoyed your 'catch up' with family in Thirsk. We do hope you come back to see us again on your next visit and maybe we'll see you out in Portugal on our next trip out there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is the kind of place where you can't decide whether to keep it a secret or tell people how good it is.
The proprietors couldn't have been more helpful or friendly, and the accommodation reflects that attention to detail. Terrific breakfast with locally sourced produce - some of it as local as coming from the owners gardens !
Hope to come back and make it a base for a longer stay in the area later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G and L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks to you both for your kind words - you were great guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to Meadowcroft when you visit your family again in the near future - we're so glad you decided to share you're thoughts - sometimes it is tempting to keep 'little gems' a secret - but we're glad you didn't!! Fantastic that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you appreciated it being locally sourced - hope to see you both again v soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

First rate stay for a business trip. Was made to feel very at home with cake on arrival. Room was well equipped and very comfortable. Will hopefully come back for a longer trip to Thirsk and the surrounding area..

Room Tip: Main bedroom with ensuite is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyW_1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Great review - thanks so much and pleased your business trip went so well - we really are ideally situated for events at Thirsk Racecourse - just a short stroll away (even shorter by car!). The room you stayed in was our 'Wharfedale' room and is vey indulgent in terms of size and fittings - glad you enjoyed it, after all if you're away from home for work you deserve to be comfortable! Hope to see you again in Thirsk soon for a short break maybe?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.7 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Three Tuns Thirsk
1.7 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
1.2 mi away
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast

Property: Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast
Address: 86 Topcliffe Road | Sowerby, Thirsk YO7 1RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowcroft Bed & Breakfast - Luxury Bed and Breakfast situated a short walk from Thirsks' market square. 1930's property retaining many original features - large, mature & well stocked garden for guest use. All our mattresses are from vi-spring - hand made in the uk and are super comfortabe! Ample off street parking on our spacious gated driveway. Free wi-fi for guest use. As far as possible all our breakfast materials are sourced locally. We use fantastic locally sourced bacon, sausages and award winning black pudding. Our breads are all home made using locally milled flour, preserves are made at Meadowcroft using fruit grown in our own gardens. We even have our own 'local producers' - our hens at the bottom of our garden. We cater for special diets and are keen foodies so are willing to meet most requests for unusual breakfast items! Accomodation as follows:1 x superking (Wharfedale) with en-suite bathroom. 40 in wall mounted flatscreen digital tv, digital radio. 1 x double (Skeldale) en-suite with wall mounted digital flatscreen tv/dvd, tivoli audio table top radio. All rooms have well stocked hospitality trays, mineral water and hairdryers, we have a fridge for guest use in our ground floor dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing