We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We spent five glorious days enjoying this wonderful B&B. Our hosts, Sue and Simon, went “above and beyond” to ensure that we wanted for nothing. The room was absolutely fabulous with plenty of space and garden views – and one of the best mattresses we’ve ever slept on. Breakfasts were incredible – Sue makes all the breads, jams and jellies, and the eggs are provided by their on-site cluckers. Sue and Simon were always available for suggestions and guidance regarding local sights and places of interest – it was like having our own personal Tourist Information Center. As perennial travelers and B&B aficionados, we would definitely rate Meadowcroft as absolutely one of the best B&Bs ever!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dj33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 189 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

Fantastic B&B. Sue and Simon are very generous and kind hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and they went out their way to ensure our visit was relaxing and memorable. The freshly baked welcoming scones were superb and the breakfast each morning was so filling we didn't really need lunch! The room was spotless and had lovely comfortable chairs which we relaxed in each afternoon with our cup of tea. I was sick with a cold when we stayed and within 10 seconds of meeting me Sue quickly offered cold & flu tablets (they were much better then mine and they gave me a much need good night sleep). Simon generously gave us a tour of the town and pointed out some lovely places to eat, which we wouldn't have discovered on our own as we didn't drive. Simon also gave us a lift to the train station which saved our legs and gave us a little extra sleep in. Sue and Simon are fantastic hosts and we definately recommend their B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This B&B is fantastic and Sue and Simon are great hosts. We had a large and really nice room with a great bathroom en-suite. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable – it was especially nice that there were comfy chairs and a small table by the window to relax. The breakfast was great and really delicious with locally sourced ingredients and their own eggs. But the best of it all were Sue and Simon, who are very nice and welcoming and really go above and beyond. On our second day there, we had a flat tire while driving in the area and Simon came out to help us find a garage that could change the tire. We could not have gotten this done without his help! Also, I was in the early stages of pregnancy and therefore asked for something different for breakfast with short notice, and they were both very accommodating with that. Also, they had great ideas for trips in the area (Thirsk is a fantastic place for seeing Yorkshire, both the Moors and the Dales, and also very nice as a town itself) and pointed us to some great restaurants with local specialties for dinner. We can especially recommend The Crown and Anchor in Sowerby, which is a laid-back pub serving great local food. We had a chat with some of the locals and thereby could get to know the place even better.

We will definitely stay at Meadowcroft again – one of the best places we have ever been on holiday!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Brilliant b & b. A friendly welcome - rooms are large and impeccably clean with superb showers and other fittings. Breakfast (I had the full English) is made from ingredients which are are all locally sourced and would you believe it - the the eggs come from their own hens.

I'm only torn between my wish to praise this guest house and the desire to keep it a close personal secret.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Cleanliness, Friendliness, Comfort, Service, Taste: all outstanding. Thank You, Sue and Simon, for a most enjoyable stay. We could not think of any better place to be.....

Sue and Simon offer first class accommodation and first class service. The car could be parked on the premises, vegetarians are being catered for, the rooms are perfect. The bathrooms are exquisite, helpful advice was always ready on demand, restaurants were precooked, local anecdotes added to the flavour.

When we return to Yorkshire, we will definitely stay again with Sue and Simon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steliene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We couldn't of asked for anything better. Sue and Simon were so accommodating and so friendly. The room was spacious, clean and tidy with all the facilities you needed. Lovely cooked breakfast in the morning. It really felt homely. We have already booked to go back in June with the children for a weekend. I would recommend this to anyone. Julia and Rob Hackett

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Was given a warm welcome from Sue and Simon, spacious room and bathroom, very clean and warm, the breakfast was truly scrumptious, all in all i couldn't fault anything, I highly recommend this wonderful B&B. Darren C

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.7 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
977 reviews
2.1 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 5 in Thirsk
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Fourways Guesthouse
Fourways Guesthouse
#9 of 23 in Thirsk
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast

Address: 86 Topcliffe Road | Sowerby, Thirsk YO7 1RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range: $60 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowcroft Bed & Breakfast - Luxury Bed and Breakfast situated a short walk from Thirsks' market square. 1930's property retaining many original features - large, mature & well stocked garden for guest use. All our mattresses are from vi-spring - hand made in the uk and are super comfortabe! Ample off street parking on our spacious gated driveway. Free wi-fi for guest use. As far as possible all our breakfast materials are sourced locally. We use fantastic locally sourced bacon, sausages and award winning black pudding. Our breads are all home made using locally milled flour, preserves are made at Meadowcroft using fruit grown in our own gardens. We even have our own 'local producers' - our hens at the bottom of our garden. We cater for special diets and are keen foodies so are willing to meet most requests for unusual breakfast items! Accomodation as follows:1 x superking (Wharfedale) with en-suite bathroom. 40 in wall mounted flatscreen digital tv, digital radio. 1 x double (Skeldale) en-suite with wall mounted digital flatscreen tv/dvd, tivoli audio table top radio. All rooms have well stocked hospitality trays, mineral water and hairdryers, we have a fridge for guest use in our ground floor dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing