We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Horse Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Just one night at the end of my week. I knew the location from frequent journeys between Thirsk and Whitby. Easy check in by the manager, Mike. Modern comfortable room with large bed and a good strong wifi signal.... I ate in the bar at night and enjoyed excellent Cumberland sausage.

Breakfast was good and the staff friendly

Plenty of on site parking

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    55
    24
    21
    16
See reviews for
25
93
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Knowley England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I'm not sure how hotel grading works, but this 3 star hotel we found to be very good. We had a very nice room; an excellent dinner and a good breakfast. The hotel staff were very helpful. It is about 5 minutes from the centre of Thirsk, out on the road which goes over Sutton Bank to Helmsley.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChorleyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

stayed for 3 nights in a warm and comfey room the staff could not do enough for us. the chef had problems and was unable to work, the manager ( mike) recomended and booked an evening meal for us, the next morning he rolled up his sleves and cooked breakfast and evening meals which was very good indeed. we will book again if we are in the area THANKS AGAIN MIKE

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed for one night recently. Warm welcome in reception and shown to our room. We were asked if we would like an evening meal in the bar as the kitchen closed at nine pm.

We were well looked after by the Duty Manager who came and chatted to us whilst our meal was prepared. Really nice friendly chap. The meal itself was really nice and not expensive. We ate in the bar area rather than the formal restaurant which is clean, comfortable and relaxing.

The room was nice and clean and the bed comfy - only real negatives were - bathroom shower was pretty weak (no more than a gentle dribble of water) and the central heating/water pipes were a bit noisy in the morning.

Other than that it was a great little hotel for the price and enjoyed our stay. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timberwolf3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked short notice over the October half term with two children and had a great 1 night stay. Nice warm welcome, friendly bar staff and great room.

It would have been 5 stars but unfortunately the restaurant didn't really cater for our two young children, 4 and 7, so had to take a trip in to Thirsk to find a bite to eat.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank themaymob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for 1 night whilst visiting Yorkshire. The room was very clean and really comfortable. Road traffic wasn't a problem. The ensuite shower room was small and only had shower gel so you will need to take toiletries etc. The evening meal was very nice and reasonably priced and the breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. We only paid £52 b and b so it was excellent value. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenh462016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay here and really enjoyed it. Very friendly welcome on arrival and the room was good. The 1 problem we had was that the shower head would not stay up. As we were only 2 nights we never bothered but if we were staying any longer I would have needed it fixed or change rooms.

Breakfast was excellent and service quick. Nice bar for an evening drink but if you want to go into Thirsk, you'll need a taxi.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you get allocated room 1, check that shower head stays up or it'll drive you nuts!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdekyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
1.3 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Three Tuns Thirsk
5.0 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
10.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Lodge Hotel

Property: White Horse Lodge Hotel
Address: Sutton Road, Thirsk YO7 2ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Horse Lodge Hotel is 3 star AA rated offering comfortable accommodation with spacious bar and restaurant facilities, free WIFI and a large free car park. Ideally situated 1 mile out of Thirsk in beautiful countryside close to Sutton Bank, within easy reach of the Yorkshire Dales, National Park, York and 10 minutes to the A1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your White Horse Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing