We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St James House
Nearby Hotels
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$104
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
74
30
1
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
30
1
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 108 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you are looking for a modern boutique hotel then you will be disappointed, if however you looking for a traditional B&B then the St James is well worth visiting. I only stayed for a one night stop over, the owner was very friendly, the room was clean & tidy and well appointed. I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B or indeed staying there again.
This is a traditional B&B not a soulless service station hotel and it is all the better for it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a glowing review. Enjoyed the 'chat'. Hope your test driving of a motor bike was up to your expectations. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last week and had a good stay. It is comfortable and the breakfast is good, and the owner, Barry, is very entertaining and helpful. The building is lovely, and although some of the fittings and bathrooms are a bit old fashioned it was clean and warm and the house is full of antique furniture. It is only a couple of minutes walk from centre of Thirsk. Would recommend St James House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJennings_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights just over Easter April2013 . The house is beautiful with antiques everywhere and we chose the front room with the wonderful Edwardian furniture! It was freezing outside but Barry has great heat!!! Bathroom is a bit dated but nice bathtub!! Breakfast was excellent with the very best rashers of bacon I've ever had(father's own cure excepted)! The price was very good for Thirsk and everything is in walking distance(AND you park your car FREE at his door ) Barry was/is an antique dealer and is a great one for conversation on all subjects!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathiIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Glad that you enjoyed your stay at St. James House and that you had a successful buying trip over here in the U.K. Thank you for your great review.
Hope the weather is warmer the next time that you come over here.
We will continue to get the bacon from the same local butcher and we will keep room 3 ready for your next visit to the U.K.

Very best regards,

Barry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed at St James and found it a beautiful experience. Steeped in history and atmosphere. We stayed in room 3 and the bed was so comfy - it was a perfect stay. Barry the host was brilliant and Lucky the cat added to the charm of the place. We will definately be back! St James has enspired me to write more which is a huge positive, thank you Barry - see you soon.

Room Tip: room 3 has the most wonderful bed and lovely views of the green. Room 3 is very spacious with huge ensuite.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hauntedtee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review - it is very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Good luck with the historical books that you are writing and with your ghost tours.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Very best regards,
Barry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I write to say I have stated at St James over the years when I visit family. I am welcomed the same each time with courtesy and and helpfulness!! The English Breakfast takes a bit of beating and served with much care and attention and the bedrooms are very clean and tidy and nothing is a problem to the owner. He knows so much about the area and as St James is a character house, there is nothing quite like it in the area. Parking is easy and it is away from the road. Lots more and I recommend anyone who comes to Yorkshire and the area to try it.

Room Tip: Ask the owner before you travel your wishes for a room suitable for your requirements and he will try his best to accommodate right room and he will do everything to suit.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. As always, it is a pleasure to have you stay with us. You always have us laughing. You are a real fun person. We look forward to you visiting us again this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews