We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St James House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St James House
Ranked #14 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

St. James house is a charming b&b , full
Of character. The owner , Barry, is really friendly and welcoming.
The room was specious and very clean.
The b&b is oy few minutes walk from
The market square making it perfect for stay in Thirsk.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    30
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
52
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for a night and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was clean, spacious and light, while Barry and the other staff were very friendly, and lovely to talk to, and happy to make suggestions for what to do in the area. As others have mentioned, the place is a little quirky, but all the better for it

One word of advice - if you pop out for a while, be sure to close the front door firmly behind you, as it can swing open.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamGoodfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I had a meeting in Thirsk and was just looking for a basic room overnight. I found St James House on the internet. I booked by telephone (a lovely chat with Barry). On arrival I had a warm welcome from Barry, he made sure I knew where everything was. When I returned after the meeting, he opened the door and again had time to ask how my meeting went and have a little chat. The room and house are superb, it is a joy to stay there. Delicious breakfast too, served in a beautiful dining room by polite and friendly girls.Even as I left............Barry waited until I was at the front door and quietly asked if I was going to pay ! .. Having paid by card for all my other travel arrangements I had forgotten to pay for my B&B. I quickly sorted this out. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Telephone and talk to Barry about your needs and he will advise you. I was on a one night stay for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janet margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braidwood, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We came across St James House when we were having difficulty finding accommodation. What a great experience. Barry was so welcoming and helpful. St James is a quirky B&B and we were very fortunate to have antique furniture in our lovely room.
Breakfast was delicious and served by very friendly staff. A lovely stay and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Very kind of you to give us such a lovely, warm review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay, especially sampling the Black Sheep Ale!, Must say I like the odd bottle myself. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This truly was a superb place to stay. The proprietor Barry was a true gentleman and host and nothing was to much trouble. He was interested in everything you were doing and was a mine of information on local places of interest. I would have no shadow of a doubt in recommending St James House as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are excellent as Barry makes the stay truly memorable, he is an excellent host and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We recently had the opportunity to stay one night at St. James House in Thirsk. We wished that we could have stayed longer! It was delightful and insightful. Barry, the proprietor, was a wonderful host. He was so helpful when asked about routes and things to do and see...a true English gentleman. Also, our accomodations were lovely, and we were served a delicious Yorkshire breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We only stayed one night, it's a charming old house full of interesting artefacts and antiques and owned by a very friendly and chatty Barry who has good knowledge of the local area. The house is only a minutes walk from the centre of the town and there are plenty of pubs and places to eat nearby with parking outside for three or so cars.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunLoverAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.2 mi away
The Three Tuns Thirsk
0.2 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.3 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kirkgate House Hotel
Kirkgate House Hotel
#13 of 23 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St James House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James House

Property: St James House
Address: 35-37 St. James Green, Thirsk YO7 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James House is a large imposing Georgian Grade 2 listed building situated on St. James Green, which is a conservation area and only a few minutes walk from the town centre.We have excellent free parking outside of the property.We are conveniently situated within a few minutes walk of visitor attractions, shops, restaurants etc. The North Yorkshire Moors National Park is only 10 minutes drive away to the East and the Yorkshire Dales National Park 25 minutes drive to the west.York is only 25 minutes drive to the south.We are open all the year round.Our friendly staff look forward to you visiting us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing