We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Loved it"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Red House

Old Red House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Red House
Ranked #22 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“"Loved it"”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have always driven past the Red House without a second glance, however we decided to give it a try after the recent refurb. We are so glad we did, the greeting was warm & friendly and nothing was too much trouble, you would think we had been going there for years.

The place was very clean and tidy with a nice atmosphere.

While waiting for our meals we sat outside with a drink and a young lady came to collect us when our food was ready, the reserved sign on the table was a nice touch.

We all found a couple of things that we liked on the menu and all four of us had a fantastic meal with generous portions. We look forward to our next visit and have no hesitation in recommending the food to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevie-B5614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I went for Sunday lunch here at the carvery. The drinks order (ordered by a friend) took a long time to sort out even though there were only 4 drinks in it. There are 3 prices for the carvery (Kids, Regular, Large) and we opted for the Regular. The plate provided was too small to get a decent portion of all the vegetables on offer unless you piled them one on top of the other. It is probably the smallest plate I have had at any carvery. Coffee was ordered after the meal and I asked for black coffee. This took a while to arrive and my Mum at one point called out "Coffee with milk!" to make sure she would get a white coffee. When the coffees came both were white so one had to be sent back. The coffee with milk that arrived for my Mum was more like milk with coffee, being so milky as to be sickly. This is not a place that I can recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My party of 4 were the only guests as the hotel had just reopened after a refurb. Bars clean and tidy, Black Sheep real ale plus 2 others on sale, big friendly dog too! Rooms spacious and clean, quiet too. Breakfast excellent, efficient and friendly service with plenty of tea and toast. Very handy for the station. Will visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

bedding & towels were spotless, overall room cleanliness was good. Decor bit dated. Room was cold due to main radiator not working. TV had no tuned in channels & no remote so was pretty pointlesss. Food was good especially breakfast. Staff very friendly & helpful. Trains shake the room during the day but never noticed any during the night

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilA_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The wife and I stopped here for a meal on the way back from Scarborough. We didn't know if they could do a gluten free option for her meal, but everyone was very helpful and pleasant, and the meals we had were very good. I've also never been a big fan of John Smith's bitter, but their cask version has almost converted me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

my husband and elderly parents spent the night here whilst at the races, the rooms were basic but very clean,the rooms were ensuite,but had no shampoo,shower jel etc, and we had to borrow the only hairdryer in the place from fellow lodgers, the only one for 10 rooms!!!, we stayed for 1 night bed and breakfast, which was lovely with full english breakfast and fresh coffee, i would recommend staying here that is very good value for money but the rooms were a little cold,and the noise coming from the trains early in the morning is "such a shame" mam and dads room was the disabled room which had 4 beds in and a wet room but that to was cold.If you do stay here dont forget your toiletries,hairdryer, and warm pjs.otherwise a good place to stay for the races which are about 10mins walk along the road

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazsafc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Went to Thirsk Races and stayed at The Old Red House. It is opposite the racecourse and in an ideal position.
The food was excellent and good value for money. All the staff were really friendly and went out of their way to organise Taxis for us.
The rooms are dated but ours was massive and it was really clean. The bedding and towels were spotless.
I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: The rooms outside in the Annex Building are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
0.7 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
792 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fourways Guesthouse
Fourways Guesthouse
#11 of 23 in Thirsk
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Vale of York
Vale of York
#2 of 2 in Carlton Miniott
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Red House

Property: Old Red House
Address: Station Road Thirsk Junction, Thirsk YO7 4LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing