We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A lovely B&B in a perfect location for the James Herriot Museum and Thirsk Town Centre.
Our room was clean, spacious, with quirky beams to add character, but fresh and modern with co-ordindated bed linen. Catherine has added some lovely touches to the rooms with Cadbury Eclairs by the bed, homemade biscuits in a jar and a daily chocolate. On top of that, plenty of tea and coffee to be had after a long day out. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice, fresh fruit, plain yoghurt and cereals plus a beautifully presented Yorkshire Breakfast. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelMancz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for this review. We are indeed perfectly located for all that Thirsk has to offer! We're pleased you enjoyed the 'James Herriot' experience including your day out in the Dales - Herriot Country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 338 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent two nights here in August this year, thought it was one of the nicest B & B's we've stayed in. Our room was lovely, furnished in the best of taste and with beautiful linens including fluffy towels. Kathryn couldn't have been more helpful and she cooked a great breakfast with lots of choices. If we're in the area again, we would definitely stay here - in fact, we would go back to Thirsk just to stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islandtraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for this lovely review. We very much hope you will be able to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I found The Gallery purely by asking when I arrived in Thirsk for a B&B whilst parking in The Market Square.I was so fortunate to be told of The Gallery by a local person.What a treat I found.The room was excellent and the breakfast you could not fault.All the little extras were there that you would usually pay extra for in many a more expensive location.I would recommend The Gallery to anyone who is looking for the best place to stay in Thirsk (posssibly in Yorkshire)and the best value for money.Many thanks to Kathryn for such a stay that was unfortunately for only a single night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIMON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, I'm so glad you found us and enjoyed your brief stay. We hope to see you again when you are travelling in this area?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

From my very first contact with Kathryn I knew we would enjoy our stay at The Gallery. Our stay was for 3 nights while exploring the Yorkshire Dales. Great detail was given to the rooms appearance with little treats every day. Breakfast was delicious with the same personal touch given by Kathryn. We can say we were made very welcome with all our needs catered for. Thank you again Kathryn & Steve for a wonderful stay. Very highly recommend!

Room Tip: Any room would be great to stay in, perfect place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you, having planned your visit so far ahead I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Gallery and exploring the Dales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Kathryn and Steve are very good hosts, we had room 3 which was comfortable with a lovely shower room attached , we only stayed for one night as we had a friends retirement party in Thirsk, The Gallery is spotless and was right in the centre of Thirsk in walking distance of our party we had a lovely meal for supper at Little 3 not very far away and a lovely breakfast with a very good choice of menu , the B@B provides lots of information on the surrounding area which we found very helpful, if we visit Thirsk again we would definitely return. Thank you both.

Room Tip: Room 3 option twin beds or double mattress and push together , nice shower room and at the back so q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you, we're so glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. We are perfectly placed for most things happeneing in Thirsk and glad you enjoyed your meal at The Little 3, we like there too. We hope to see you again so you can see more of Yorkshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Kathy and Steve are fabulous hosts, our room was brilliant, Thirsk is a lovely place in the greatest county on Earth (possibly the Universe), and our stay at The Gallery was far too short.

Oh, and how could I forget the breakfast?! Well cooked, locally sourced and lots of it! A.maz.ing.

Our room (room 1) was large, well equipped and very clean. It overlooked a "main" road but that really wasn't an issue. I say "main" because we're from Sheffield and that road is a quiet country lane in comparison to most around my house!

My only regret is that we didn't get more time to spend there. I guess that means another stay is in order...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you, it was lovely having you both here to stay and we look forward to the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Gallery for 3 nights. The accommodation was fantastic! Very clean and comfortable. We had 3 children with us who were made to feel very welcome, and really enjoyed all the little treats left in the rooms! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and especially the wonderful breakfasts!! I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast with its ideal situation and wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: All the rooms were equally well equipped and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you, you and your children were very welcome! Having worked most of my life with children I love to have them here at The Gallery. I'm glad you had such a good time exploring North Yorkshire and maybe we will see you back here to discover more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
1.9 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fourways Guesthouse
Fourways Guesthouse
#10 of 23 in Thirsk
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirkgate House Hotel
Kirkgate House Hotel
#15 of 23 in Thirsk
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range: $96 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallery Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Bed and Breakfast has a 4 star silver award and a breakfast award. It is ideally located for exploring Herriot Country, being between the Dales and the North York Moors. It is a Grade II listed cottage set in the heart of the ancient market town of Thirsk and opposite The World of James Herriot. It is a 2 minute walk to the cobbled market place with its many cafes, pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Kathryn & Steve offer beautiful accommodation and a warm welcome. All rooms are en-suite and have free wifi. Breakfast is all locally sourced or home made and all diets can be catered for. You can watch 'All Creatures Great & Small' on DVD or browse through our books of the Dales and the Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gallery Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing