We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gallery, Thirsk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 30, 2013

One of the best B&B's we've stayed in. Excellent breakfast, comfy bed and spotlessly clean. The room had some extra special touches, such as, chocolates and home made biscuits, also shampoo, body wash and body lotion in bathroom, which was nice too. We would highly recommend this accomadation and would definitely stay again.

Rob & Clare, Barnsley

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. So glad you enjoyed the extra special touches and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 338 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were very impressed with The Gallery during our stay. It is just over the road from the James Herriot museum and within a couple of minutes walk to local pubs and restaurants. The breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. The hosts were friendly and welcoming to us and our 2 year old. There were also homely touches such as cookies in the room and chocolates together with tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Comfy large bed too.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you! it was a pleasure to meet you and especially your son. We are indeed perfectly located for The World of James Herriot and the market place with plenty of shops, pubs & restaurants. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just had a lovely 2 night stay at The Gallery in Thirsk. The hospitality shown by the hosts was excellent from the moment we walked through the door, the accommodation was really cosy and the breakfasts were excellent! Thirsk is a delightful market town and we would highly recommend The Gallery for anyone contemplating spending some time there. Really lovely stay!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you! Thirsk is indeed a delightful market town and has a lovely variety of independent shops and cafes. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A very friendly and comfortable stay with a first class breakfast.Located near the centre of Thirsk within walking distance of local shops, pubs and restaurants. Lovely comfortable bedroom with ample supplies of tea, coffee and a homebaked biscuit and chocolates as a nice special touch. I will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this B + B for couples and singles.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenmoirarogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you we're so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Only stayed 1 night, but our stay at "The Gallery" was perfect in every way. The B&B is only a stones throw away from the Market Place, but quiet enough for a good nights sleep.
Our room was beautifully clean and extremely comfortable. Lots of lovely little touches, chocolates, sweets, biscuits. The double bed and bedding was luxurious, didn't want to get out of it the next morning!!
The choice and quality of the breakfast on offer was tremendous. Everything was fresh,tasty, locally sourced and beautifully presented.Cannot recommend enough.You must stay here if visiting Thirsk!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoffski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back one day, maybe for more cycling?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just arrived home from a few days break in Yorkshire our first stop was in Thirsk at this lovely B&B. A very warm welcome from Kathryn on arrival,lovely comfortable,spotless room with a wonderful super king bed and beautiful white fluffy towels. Breakfast was excellent especially the poached eggs and lots to choose from. Wish we could have stayed longer but we were meeting up with friends in Skipton. Would love to come back in the future when we have the time as we also run a bed and breakfast, very much appeciated being looked after so well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fourviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you, praise indeed from a fellow professional! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and maybe see you at your B&B next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my two nights at The Gallery. It was perfect for me as I went about an everything James Herriot weekend. Kathryn was incredibly nice and helpful as I tried to figure out how to get around Yorkshire. She took time out of her day to come up with a complex bus route that I could use and in the end when I decided to just hire a taxi for a day, she called up the perfect guide for me. The breakfasts were also the best I've thus had abroad and filled me up for basically half of the day, which is very hard to do for me as I'm a very tall guy. On that note, if you are tall, the ceilings are very low and the doorways are even lower so you will have to crouch down whenever you walk anywhere, however this alone is no reason not to go there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSchutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you, so glad you enjoyed your tour of Herriot country with Mike - he knows all about James Herriot! It was a pleasure to help you plan your time with us and i don't think you banged your head once!! Our home is 200 years old and built when people weren't so tall but we hope this all adds to the charm!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
978 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 5 in Thirsk
477 reviews
1.9 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fourways Guesthouse
Fourways Guesthouse
#9 of 23 in Thirsk
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range: $98 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallery Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Bed and Breakfast has a 4 star silver award and a breakfast award. It is ideally located for exploring Herriot Country, being between the Dales and the North York Moors. It is a Grade II listed cottage set in the heart of the ancient market town of Thirsk and opposite The World of James Herriot. It is a 2 minute walk to the cobbled market place with its many cafes, pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Kathryn & Steve offer beautiful accommodation and a warm welcome. All rooms are en-suite and have free wifi. Breakfast is all locally sourced or home made and all diets can be catered for. You can watch 'All Creatures Great & Small' on DVD or browse through our books of the Dales and the Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gallery Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing