We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a fabulous place to stay, could not fault it, warm welcome, beautiful warm, comfortable rooms, exceptionally clean, best breakfast we have ever had. Would most certainly recommend and return.
Everything you could possible need, alarm clock, cotton wool, biscuits, sweeties, hot water bottles, extra duvets. Right opposite James Herriott's house. Had been to a family wedding in the area and were so impressed with the location and standard of this B and B, have decided to return to do some sight seeing in September.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navigatorSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We're so glad you had everything you needed and we look forward to seeing you in September to explore North Yorkshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 334 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

I was looking for a place to stay somewhere not too distance from the motorway, and part-way back home. I chose the Gallery B&B which was a perfect finder. The building has a charming facade and has lots of characters you would expect in a Listed building. Kathryn gave me very warm welcome throughout the whole stay; this is accentuated/reflected through decorations which is warm, homely, cosy.

My room was an indulgence. I had about 6 pillows, the bedding was neatly done. There was a series of books written by James Herriot on the bed side table, sweets, homemade cookies, teas, coffee, bathroom amenities is more generous than many of 4 star hotels.

The breakfast: I was the only guest so had the breakfast room to myself that morning. Despite of the number of guests, the setting of the breakfast (the continental choices) was complete and so generous I felt almost guilty I could not be worth that effort. Then there was selection of breads and full hot breakfast menu you could order from. I had home-made veggie sausages which were delicious.

The place is run and managed very professionally and efficiently. I don't know that this is common to high standard B&B but it came across to me as a little bit of surprise.

I shall stay there again and this time with family, and hopefully have more time to visit the James Herriot museum which is just across the road.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_suwanatip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed our B&B so much more than the standard hotels you use! I'm sorry you had so little time here but you MUST return with your family to visit The World of James Herriot! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My partner and I were lucky enough to stay at The Gallery back in November and really would recommend it. Our room was large but cosy with a really comfy bed, white fluffy towels, loads of yorkshire tea, home made cookies and a shower room with everything we needed. There were even cotton wool to take my make-up off with......its the small things that count!

The landlord of the B&B also organises a local event called 'Loosely Folk,' which brings folk acts from all around the country to perform a really intimate, acoustic gig in a local venue. If you are staying at the right time its definitely worth going along to drink a real ale and watch some good music.

Breakfast was one of the best we've had, with locally sourced bacon and a very impressive choice of sausages!

Katherie and Steve, the owners of this B&B, are very friendly and know plenty of things to do in the local area. We are hoping to get back to stay again very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraCalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you Laura Beth & Callum for this lovely review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Laura Beth Salter & Rachel Newton were playing at 'Loosely, Folk' at The Courthouse in Thirsk. Steve is promoting these performances and plans to do lots more next year with some great acts! One of the many things happening in Thirsk!
We do hope you come back and stay again and see more of the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you're visiting Thirsk or the surrounding areas then this is the place to stay. Katherine provides a very warm welcome to a wonderful bed and breakfast at "The Gallery". Our room was very well appointed without being fussy. It had everything you needed. The bed was comfy ensuring a good nights sleep, the bathroom beautifully decorated with a lovely shower. The best was yet to come with a fantastic breakfast with everything you desired and all good quality. Katherine has definitely
excelled. Having stayed at other venues this definitely comes up trumps.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks for this great review - we work hard and it's so good to know this is appreciated and we're providing what guests want!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

A lovely place to stay. A warm, friendly welcome, spotlessly clean room and delicious breakfast. Katherine was very helpful in recommending restaurants and giving is information on the local area.
Ideally situated to explore the best parts of beautiful North Yorkshire with plenty of nearby parking.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank 808annettec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for the review - we were glad to be of help with information about the area - Thirsk is in a great location for exploring North Yorkshire!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Couldn't have asked for more, the room was spotless but extremely cosy, lovely little touches like home made cookies and fluffy towels, the owners were more then welcoming and the breakfast was just gorgeous! Felt like absolute luxury, lovely!

Claire and Mark

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks for the review - we're so glad you enjoyed your anniversary celebrations and your stay at The Gallery and particularly glad you enjoyed the homemade cookies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A small and friendly b&b with a lovely large warm room. The little extras of home cooked biscuits, sweets and chocolates in the room made it extra special. The breakfasts are excellent with a good choice of things to tempt you and all locally bought and fresh. We are hoping to move to the area so it was good to hear of Katherine's experience of coming into the town. The location of the b&b is great for getting to know the town as it is just off the market place and there is a good choice of places to eat in the evening. We are intending to return soon and hope to get to the cinema and enjoy some more walks in the local area! thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. We were so glad to be able to help with our experience of moving to the area. We have been in Thirsk 5 years and love it here. There is so much to see and do in North Yorkshire! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
952 reviews
1.9 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fourways Guesthouse
Fourways Guesthouse
#9 of 23 in Thirsk
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range: $96 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallery Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Bed and Breakfast has a 4 star silver award and a breakfast award. It is ideally located for exploring Herriot Country, being between the Dales and the North York Moors. It is a Grade II listed cottage set in the heart of the ancient market town of Thirsk and opposite The World of James Herriot. It is a 2 minute walk to the cobbled market place with its many cafes, pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Kathryn & Steve offer beautiful accommodation and a warm welcome. All rooms are en-suite and have free wifi. Breakfast is all locally sourced or home made and all diets can be catered for. You can watch 'All Creatures Great & Small' on DVD or browse through our books of the Dales and the Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Gallery Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing