We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a cracker !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you're visiting Thirsk or the surrounding areas then this is the place to stay. Katherine provides a very warm welcome to a wonderful bed and breakfast at "The Gallery". Our room was very well appointed without being fussy. It had everything you needed. The bed was comfy ensuring a good nights sleep, the bathroom beautifully decorated with a lovely shower. The best was yet to come with a fantastic breakfast with everything you desired and all good quality. Katherine has definitely
excelled. Having stayed at other venues this definitely comes up trumps.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks for this great review - we work hard and it's so good to know this is appreciated and we're providing what guests want!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 340 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

A lovely place to stay. A warm, friendly welcome, spotlessly clean room and delicious breakfast. Katherine was very helpful in recommending restaurants and giving is information on the local area.
Ideally situated to explore the best parts of beautiful North Yorkshire with plenty of nearby parking.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank 808annettec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for the review - we were glad to be of help with information about the area - Thirsk is in a great location for exploring North Yorkshire!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Couldn't have asked for more, the room was spotless but extremely cosy, lovely little touches like home made cookies and fluffy towels, the owners were more then welcoming and the breakfast was just gorgeous! Felt like absolute luxury, lovely!

Claire and Mark

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks for the review - we're so glad you enjoyed your anniversary celebrations and your stay at The Gallery and particularly glad you enjoyed the homemade cookies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A small and friendly b&b with a lovely large warm room. The little extras of home cooked biscuits, sweets and chocolates in the room made it extra special. The breakfasts are excellent with a good choice of things to tempt you and all locally bought and fresh. We are hoping to move to the area so it was good to hear of Katherine's experience of coming into the town. The location of the b&b is great for getting to know the town as it is just off the market place and there is a good choice of places to eat in the evening. We are intending to return soon and hope to get to the cinema and enjoy some more walks in the local area! thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. We were so glad to be able to help with our experience of moving to the area. We have been in Thirsk 5 years and love it here. There is so much to see and do in North Yorkshire! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent only one night last week at the Gallery. Katherine was extremely helpful in every way, even helping us select the location and B and B for our next night ( we were wandering aimlessly around the Dales!) She is just a very sweet lady. The room was spotless, breakfast was terrific, and her recommendations for dinner and the James Herriot Museum were both spot-on. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for the lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and to help in the planning of the next bit of your travels! We're very pleased you loved our vegetarian sausages and hope you got the recipe! Maybe see you back here another year?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

great b and b friendly owners could`nt do enough for you. A great favourite was the breakfast, the room was spotless and very spacious. Location was brilliant everything on your doorstep also visited the local church were an doll expedition from all over the world was dispalyed even met an australian couple i suppose that sums up our great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue123657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Starting with the breakfast; I opted for the really tasty Yorkshire breakfast with a choice of local sausages. Lots of cerials, fresh fruit, yoghurts and lighter choices if you don't have the appetite or a larger appetite! Located in the centre of Thirsk with easy access to the market place, restaurants and pubs. We stayed as we were at the races over the weekend and being just a minutes walk from the pubs it made it a little more quiet as it can get a little loud when the races are on. Wonderful hosts with local knowledge were able to point us in the direction of a real ale festival and a restaurant to eat on the first night of our stay, which was a great help and great choice. There is no parking at the Gallery but we were given a parking permit until 6pm for outside the B&B until we could park our car in the long stay car park (150yds away) for £1 for the entire weekend. We visit Thirsk for the races the same time every year and although we normally try somewhere different we will stay at this very reasonably priced B&B next year if its available. Oh and they also sell local Jam and marmalade along with the previous Gallery owners prints from his paintings of the local area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and glad we were able to recommend the beer festival at The Crown & Anchor. It's a great pub and we managed to get on the Sunday to try a couple of pints!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.1 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 5 in Thirsk
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kirkgate House Hotel
Kirkgate House Hotel
#15 of 23 in Thirsk
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
1.4 mi away
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range: $102 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallery Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Bed and Breakfast has a 4 star silver award and a breakfast award. It is ideally located for exploring Herriot Country, being between the Dales and the North York Moors. It is a Grade II listed cottage set in the heart of the ancient market town of Thirsk and opposite The World of James Herriot. It is a 2 minute walk to the cobbled market place with its many cafes, pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Kathryn & Steve offer beautiful accommodation and a warm welcome. All rooms are en-suite and have free wifi. Breakfast is all locally sourced or home made and all diets can be catered for. You can watch 'All Creatures Great & Small' on DVD or browse through our books of the Dales and the Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gallery Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing