We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights recently and were extremely impressed. Everything in the Gallery is done to perfection without any undue fuss. We stayed in Room 3 which was spacious and very comfortable with everything you needed for a very pleasant stay. Toiletries, linen, towels TV are all spot on with tea making facilities, fresh milk and homemade biscuits also included. Breakfast was very good indeed with delicious local honey and marmalade and morning newspapers available for those not rushing off. Thisk centre is just round the corner and Fountains Abbey is not far away. Alternatively North Yorkshire is not far to go in the other direction. It's reassuring to stay in a place where nothing is too much trouble, which is immaculately clean and where you are so well taken care of. We hadn't stayed in Thirsk before but it turned out to be a small but pleasant town with much of its traditional character still in place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - those little extras are very important! Also glad you enjoyed Thirsk and the surrounding area - there is so much to see in North Yorkshire - I think you will need a return visit?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
167
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at The Gallery B & B.
Even though it was only a short stay we will definitely return.
As a rabid eco-warrior (recycle or die!) I was well impressed with the Gallery's Green credentials and, in the future, I will endeavour to stay at B & Bs that are on this website ( http://www.green-business.co.uk/index.asp)
The balance between old and new in The Gallery is perfect.
The bed was oh so comfortable (Kathryn/Steve, where did you buy the mattress and what make, model is it please?) Crisp linen sheets and perfect pillows ensured we had a good afternoon siesta and a great nights sleep)
The little touches...sweets.....cookies(a yummy accompaniment to Sunday mornings cup of tea) .....free Wi-Fi just added to the pleasure of our stay.

Breakfast was very tasty. Unfortunately, our appetites were a bit dulled after the previous nights feast at The Golden Fleece Hotel (Eton Mess to die for!). We still enjoyed our morning meal (Wild Boar sausage.....very tasty) and Eggs Benedict for my wife.

We have nothing but total praise for The Gallery and will be definitely recommending the place to friends and relatives.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyjl1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am passionate about being 'green' and like you if it can be recycled it is! Also glad you enjoyed your meal at The Golden Fleece, We often recommend it and guests are rarely disappointed. We hope to see you again maybe when you manage that gliding trip?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked all 3 rooms for the family to stay over for my mother in laws 80th birthday, we had a very warm welcome and our rooms were lovely. Loads of little treats in the room,homemade biscuits sweeties by the bed and our drinks tray had loads of choices. The breakfast also had loads of choose from, granola to juices to cooked breakfast, a real treat. We would go back again no probs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed the party and your stay with us. it's always lovely to have a family in all three rooms. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoals, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Gallery House B&B has a lovely location in the village of Thirsk, just steps away from the central square and across the street from the James Herriot museum. Our room was extremely comfortable and the bed linens top quality. I had the homemade fish cake for breakfast which was terrific and my husband had the full English breakfast, which was also much above average. Catherine is very kind and attentive and runs a quality inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you, we're so glad you enjoyed your brief stay in Thirsk. You must come back for a longer stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed 5 nights at this gorgeous bed and breakfast and Kathryn and Steve couldnt have been more helpful. Everywhere was spotless and very comfortable and everything had been thought about. The food was delicious and there was a huge choice from full cooked breakfast or lighter options. Perfect location and nice to be able to stroll into Thirsk without having to use the car. The chocolate and apricot cookies were yummy and replenished every day - couldnt rate this bed and breakfast higher, one of the best Ive stayed in in the world.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for this lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you staying here and so glad you like my biscuits! Hope to see you again sometime to explore more of Yorkshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I was on a linear walking holiday and had two nights here. the company that organised the walk had arranged that Kathryn would pick me up from the finishing point of one days walk and drop me off the next night. This she did willingly and worked her schedule to suit mine. I also had a very comfortable room, breakfast was great and Kathryn's suggestions for where I would feel comfortable as a single lady having dinner were perfect

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonnyr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you. It was a pleasure to help with your walking holiday and having dropped your luggage off in Richmond I found a wonderful cafe with 10 varieties of scone!! We hope to see you back here to explore all there is to see in North Yorkshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed at the Gallery four wonderful days. We enjoyed the lovely warm hospitality of Kathryn , the great breakfasts and treats and the care for every detail. The Gallery is beautiful and the stay highly recommended. Great location for all of James Herriot's admirers - right across the road from the Herriot museum.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you! We're glad you had such a lovely time and if ever we're in Jerusalem we will be sure to visit your museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.4 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
1.2 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
1.4 mi away
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Address: 18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallery Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Bed and Breakfast has a 4 star silver award and a breakfast award. It is ideally located for exploring Herriot Country, being between the Dales and the North York Moors. It is a Grade II listed cottage set in the heart of the ancient market town of Thirsk and opposite The World of James Herriot. It is a 2 minute walk to the cobbled market place with its many cafes, pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Kathryn & Steve offer beautiful accommodation and a warm welcome. All rooms are en-suite and have free wifi. Breakfast is all locally sourced or home made and all diets can be catered for. You can watch 'All Creatures Great & Small' on DVD or browse through our books of the Dales and the Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Gallery Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing