We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shoals, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Gallery House B&B has a lovely location in the village of Thirsk, just steps away from the central square and across the street from the James Herriot museum. Our room was extremely comfortable and the bed linens top quality. I had the homemade fish cake for breakfast which was terrific and my husband had the full English breakfast, which was also much above average. Catherine is very kind and attentive and runs a quality inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you, we're so glad you enjoyed your brief stay in Thirsk. You must come back for a longer stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
171
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed 5 nights at this gorgeous bed and breakfast and Kathryn and Steve couldnt have been more helpful. Everywhere was spotless and very comfortable and everything had been thought about. The food was delicious and there was a huge choice from full cooked breakfast or lighter options. Perfect location and nice to be able to stroll into Thirsk without having to use the car. The chocolate and apricot cookies were yummy and replenished every day - couldnt rate this bed and breakfast higher, one of the best Ive stayed in in the world.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for this lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you staying here and so glad you like my biscuits! Hope to see you again sometime to explore more of Yorkshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I was on a linear walking holiday and had two nights here. the company that organised the walk had arranged that Kathryn would pick me up from the finishing point of one days walk and drop me off the next night. This she did willingly and worked her schedule to suit mine. I also had a very comfortable room, breakfast was great and Kathryn's suggestions for where I would feel comfortable as a single lady having dinner were perfect

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonnyr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you. It was a pleasure to help with your walking holiday and having dropped your luggage off in Richmond I found a wonderful cafe with 10 varieties of scone!! We hope to see you back here to explore all there is to see in North Yorkshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed at the Gallery four wonderful days. We enjoyed the lovely warm hospitality of Kathryn , the great breakfasts and treats and the care for every detail. The Gallery is beautiful and the stay highly recommended. Great location for all of James Herriot's admirers - right across the road from the Herriot museum.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you! We're glad you had such a lovely time and if ever we're in Jerusalem we will be sure to visit your museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Myself, my husband, daughter and her husband stayed on the 20th and 21st of April, we couldnt have asked for a better B&B. The breakfast was fantastic, I must have put on few lbs, the rooms were a good size, and the location was perfect. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiewirral61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed the weekend and particularly your stay at The Gallery. Thank you for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The couple who run this inn really work hard to be helpful and hospitable. Large, clean rooms and a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nederdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you, we're glad you enjoyed your stay in Thirsk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Everything is right about this B&B, especially the breakfast - fresh fruit salad and wonderful choice of cooked items using locally sourced food. There were good quality toiletries in the bathroom - but rather cramped shower. Fresh milk provided for the tea tray, which had a reasonable choice of herbal teas. TV and radio - plus excellent choice of dvds to borrow. Also very good information on area, including a folder with advice on lots of local walks. The bedroom, which was a good size with nice furniture, overlooked Kirkgate which was a little noisy on Friday evening but was totally quiet throughout the main part of the night. It would be difficult to get a quieter place so close to the centre of Thirsk. I strongly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you liked The Gallery so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
829 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
445 reviews
1.4 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
0.0 mi away
Kirkgate House Hotel
Kirkgate House Hotel
#12 of 23 in Thirsk
88 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Address: 18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallery Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Bed and Breakfast has a 4 star silver award and a breakfast award. It is ideally located for exploring Herriot Country, being between the Dales and the North York Moors. It is a Grade II listed cottage set in the heart of the ancient market town of Thirsk and opposite The World of James Herriot. It is a 2 minute walk to the cobbled market place with its many cafes, pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Kathryn & Steve offer beautiful accommodation and a warm welcome. All rooms are en-suite and have free wifi. Breakfast is all locally sourced or home made and all diets can be catered for. You can watch 'All Creatures Great & Small' on DVD or browse through our books of the Dales and the Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Gallery Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing