We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay in May”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I was on a linear walking holiday and had two nights here. the company that organised the walk had arranged that Kathryn would pick me up from the finishing point of one days walk and drop me off the next night. This she did willingly and worked her schedule to suit mine. I also had a very comfortable room, breakfast was great and Kathryn's suggestions for where I would feel comfortable as a single lady having dinner were perfect

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vonnyr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you. It was a pleasure to help with your walking holiday and having dropped your luggage off in Richmond I found a wonderful cafe with 10 varieties of scone!! We hope to see you back here to explore all there is to see in North Yorkshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 338 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed at the Gallery four wonderful days. We enjoyed the lovely warm hospitality of Kathryn , the great breakfasts and treats and the care for every detail. The Gallery is beautiful and the stay highly recommended. Great location for all of James Herriot's admirers - right across the road from the Herriot museum.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Thank you! We're glad you had such a lovely time and if ever we're in Jerusalem we will be sure to visit your museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Myself, my husband, daughter and her husband stayed on the 20th and 21st of April, we couldnt have asked for a better B&B. The breakfast was fantastic, I must have put on few lbs, the rooms were a good size, and the location was perfect. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiewirral61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed the weekend and particularly your stay at The Gallery. Thank you for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The couple who run this inn really work hard to be helpful and hospitable. Large, clean rooms and a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nederdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Thank you, we're glad you enjoyed your stay in Thirsk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Everything is right about this B&B, especially the breakfast - fresh fruit salad and wonderful choice of cooked items using locally sourced food. There were good quality toiletries in the bathroom - but rather cramped shower. Fresh milk provided for the tea tray, which had a reasonable choice of herbal teas. TV and radio - plus excellent choice of dvds to borrow. Also very good information on area, including a folder with advice on lots of local walks. The bedroom, which was a good size with nice furniture, overlooked Kirkgate which was a little noisy on Friday evening but was totally quiet throughout the main part of the night. It would be difficult to get a quieter place so close to the centre of Thirsk. I strongly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you liked The Gallery so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Fantastic place . Everything we had hoped for. Beautiful and comfortable room, great host who made us very welcome, cooked breakfast to perfection and had a really good choice.
Top quality toiletries, vast range of DVDs and books and as much info about the local area as you could wish for.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you, so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We would like to agree with all the other positive reviews, having recently stayed for three nights in The Gallery. The room was indeed spotlessly clean and with great attention to detail. Of particular note was the good quality toiletries for guests to use and a selection of items such as cotton wool and baby buds available. Although a decent biscuit doesn't seem important I think it shows care and consideration for the guest, along with fresh milk rather than the unpleasant longlife variety! and an excellent choice of beverages. We also made use of the vast selection of local information and borrowed walks and maps. Newspapers were available for guests and Kathryn was very happy to offer advice about the local area but without being intrusive in any way. We too enjoyed the breakfasts, with wonderful local produce. We were made to feel very welcome and felt comfortable and relaxed during our stay.Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PricklesYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Thank you. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We have lots of walks, maps and books about the local area. We're glad you made the most of them and enjoyed the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.1 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 5 in Thirsk
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kirkgate House Hotel
Kirkgate House Hotel
#16 of 23 in Thirsk
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
1.4 mi away
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range: $98 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallery Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Bed and Breakfast has a 4 star silver award and a breakfast award. It is ideally located for exploring Herriot Country, being between the Dales and the North York Moors. It is a Grade II listed cottage set in the heart of the ancient market town of Thirsk and opposite The World of James Herriot. It is a 2 minute walk to the cobbled market place with its many cafes, pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Kathryn & Steve offer beautiful accommodation and a warm welcome. All rooms are en-suite and have free wifi. Breakfast is all locally sourced or home made and all diets can be catered for. You can watch 'All Creatures Great & Small' on DVD or browse through our books of the Dales and the Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gallery Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing