We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wished we'd been able to stay for longer!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wished we'd been able to stay for longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

My two children and I have just spent one night at The Poplars and we had a most wonderful stay. The room was stylish and comfortable and the owner Amanda warmly greeted us with drinks and homemade scrummy flapjacks. My children particularly liked the park with extensive play equipment few minutes walk down the road.

We'd only booked one night to break up our journey from the midlands to Newcastle - wished we'd booked for longer but already we're working out when we can visit again!

Having always stayed in soulless hotels, this was our first ever stay in a B&B - it certainly won't be our last!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nosidawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    15
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
50
110
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have recently stayed in the B+B at The poplars Thirsk. We got the Wensleydale room which consists of twin beds , a TV , a tub chair, en-suite shower/bath room, tea and coffee making facilities and more. Everywhere was clean and there was plenty of tea bags and milk plus some lovely cookies and biscuit fingers.The bathroom was large and had a nice shower bath , the mirror had some fancy lights on and there were some candles around the room. The beds in the room were quite comfy and plenty of storage space and lamps.As breakfast was included in the price we decided to get some, there were some cereal boxes, fresh fruit, orange juice and jams and honey. Then we ordered a cooked breakfast which was to die for - bacon and sausages were lovely. The hosts were nice - not forgetting their lovely dog Bailey.

Room Tip: dogs are allowed and any room would be just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daddycool01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

This area of Yorkshire is simply beautiful. The Poplars was a fantastic place to stay. Amanda provided us with a very warm welcome amidst the rain. The room was lovely and breakfast was one of the best we experienced in England.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LentonParkLlamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had booked B&B for us and our teenage son for a couple of nights, and Amanda very kindly asked us if we would like to use one of the cottages instead as would have more space, which we did. She also left bread, milk and butter, and Richard called in with some eggs just collected from their hens, which again was lovely. The cottage was immaculate, everything you could need, and very spacious with two good size bedrooms. Gardens were immaculate too, and position near Thirsk and railway station very handy for exploring this part of Yorkshire.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MMC1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Staying at the Poplars was superb. I regularly work away from home and find myself staying in lots of random hotels with widely varying standards; some should be looked at by the advertising standards agency: however, no worries here .... What a little gem!!!!

Amanda was very welcoming and helpful and on arrival showed me to a very comfortable, quite room; perfect after a busy few days. Sadly, I was only able to spend 2 nights as business dragged me away to the South but would definitely recommend a visit if you are in the area.

For those of you who enjoy your full cooked breakfasts...... You won't be disappointed there either.

Room Tip: Any room would be equally as comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JAMES245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottingham east yorks
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Visited on Saturday 22/3/14 with my partner as part of a weekend away. On arrival we were met by the owners mother in law who couldn't do enough for us. We were shown our room & on asking for a double bed she immediately showed us to the Nidderdale room. The rooms are finished to a good standard & are spotlessly clean with a good sized shower/toilet. We asked if there was somewhere to eat & we were directed to the Redhouse pub(even though it's grey!), which is about 300yds away. The food here was excellent & reasonably priced. Next morning we had a hearty full English breakfast cooked by the owners. We also met 1yr old Connie (the owners daughter) who was gorgeous & Bailey the very friendly dog. We had lovely night away made all the better by the owners of The Poplars. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank airliebird13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have just returned back from a fantastic stay at The Poplars. After a horrendous stay else where the night before, we made a phone call to The Poplars at 9am Saturday morning and we was knocking on the door at 10am. We randomly found this B&B on the internet as we was in the area. We could not of found a better place to stay. We had a double room which was spacious, well equipped and decorated lovely. Perfect for us two and our little pooch. Amanda was extremely helpful and could not of done more for us. The house, rooms, cottages and surrounding land was beautiful, just located back from the main road. The location is perfect with lots of walks, a pub down the road for dinner and the race track only 5 minutes away - Thirsk only 10 minutes. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Great food and fantastic service. You really are made to feel very welcome into Amanda and her lovely little families gorgeous home. I can not recommend this little gem of a place enough. We will definitely be returning. Thank you to Amanda for rescuing our weekend. Jenn, Danny and Nell

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
1.5 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Three Tuns Thirsk
3.5 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
8.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages

Property: The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Address: Carlton Miniott, Thirsk YO7 4LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplars, originally a farm house, built in 1901, is an impressive detached property with far reaching grounds. Set within an acre of gardens, the Poplars Rooms are all accessed via their own private entrance, affording you the privacy usually associated with a larger hotel, whilst offering our guests the personal touches and attention to detail from a small family owned Bed & Breakfast. Ideally located for access to all major routes ( A1, A61 & A19) as well as being only 250m from the train station, The Poplars is an ideal base for business or pleasure. All rooms are exceptionally well equipped with all the comforts you would expect from a quality driven establishment; Freeview TV, Power Shower, Free WIFI, Bathrobes, Mineral Water and Tea & Coffee facilities, make for those extra special touches. A great night's sleep, complimented by a fantastic breakfast..... Bed & Breakfast as it should be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Poplars - Rooms And Cottages
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages Hotel Thirsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing