We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Zeus, memorable for the wrong reasons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Templars Hotel and Carvery
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Baldock
Hatfield Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stay at Zeus, memorable for the wrong reasons”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I had a Christmas party at Zeus and stayed one night on 6 December 2013.

On arrival, it seems parking was an issue nearby the hotel so we asked reception where to park and were told anywhere would be OK as long as the cars were gone by 1100 the next morning. Like others, I specifically pointed out where my car was parked and again I was reassurred this would be OK until 1100 the next morning.

The drinks were standard, the meals were OK though on the expensive side.

Access to the room (room 21) was rather complex, involving a change of staircase at the first floor, the second staircase being on the oter side of the building . It takes time to get there, more importantly, if a fire broke out it would take time to get out. The room itself was small, overheated (we slept with the window open) and my wife and I prefered not to use the shower as it obviously needs to be overhauled. There is a sense of having things there, not because they are useful, but simply to tick a box: TV there is one, practically useless, there is a coffee and tea stray, no biscuits and unless one bring one's own water to the room (which we fortunately did) the tap water would not make a good tea or coffee and we would not recommend the shower.

Breakfast was prepared with economy rather than quality in mind. It is served in the pub rather than the restaurant and coffee, tea and bread needs to be obtained from a table in front of the bar. There is a four slice toaster to be shared by all the guests, toasting bread on one side at a time (half of the heating elements in the toaster were not working) so it will take a while before you can have toast ... that is, if there is sufficient bread in the first place. Don't expect freshly squeezed juices. Expect just one egg, one sausage and bacon the last two very fatty (again it's provided but most people will leave most of these, others will not even try).

The next morning all cars for our those in our party that stayed the night had penalty charge notices issued at about 0700. The hotel refused to take any ownership for this despite confirming that our parking would be trouble free until 1100. If they had said there is nowhere to park, we would not have stayed but this would have also affected directly the bar bill and indirectly the meals.

This is a very expensive place to stay considering what one gets. To avoid.
For sure, they'll never see me again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pascal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    32
    21
    18
See reviews for
26
32
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Codford, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife & I had the good fortune to stay at this hotel whilst visiting the local area. The room was well appointed and the staff were friendly courteous and very efficient. The breakfast served was well presented and came hot on warm plates which to our view is essential.
The hotel is well situated in the Centre of Baldock which is a very attractive little town.

We would definatly stay there again and also reccomend it.

Room Tip: Great place to stay for a quiet night and a comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed here as a stopover en route from one client meeting to another. I chose this Hotel because the location looked like it would be the geographic midpoint of my journey between sites. I was prepared to accept that the accommodation might only be average at best but assumed that the food might be worth the visit. It turned out that I was right on the first count however I was wrong on the last. I feel particularly disappointed given that I really like Greek food and despite this I come away from the Zeus restaurant feeling that I had been let down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank impulsivearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

recently went to the restaurant in Zeus for a hen night and had one of the best evenings in ages!

There was about 30 of us as well as various other hen parties and large birthday groups, and you didn't get the feel that they were struggling at all! Food came out all at once, and wasn't too long in between, and was good! Not the best I've ever had but for a cheap 3 course meal, you can't go wrong!

What really sealed it for me was the entertainment. They had a range of greek dancers, belly dancers as well as singers and djs and it kept the whole restaurant entertained all night! I liked the way they tried to get everyone involved at all times too, but didn't make you feel like you HAD to. Was good fun for all ages.

Would recommend for an occasion, not to sure I would want to go for a quiet romantic meal as it can get quite busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare National Park, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Ok hotel , close to train station so very easy to get to Cambridge. Breakfast was good.
Good choice of restaurants around, paper shop opposite andTesco's up the road. Quite a few pubs within walking distance.
The only down side is that there are parking restrictions only a two hour stay in the week and Saturday , Sunday no restrictions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a leaving do for my mum here, the hotel itself is really nice and staff are friendly and helpful too, they had about 50 Italian people staying with them the night we stayed but to be honest the only time they were a problem is when they were leaving. If your looking for a good night out I would definitely come here again. Plate smashing is really fun! Good full English too!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19soph19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

we moved here after a poor experience at another nearby hotel. Central location, good size room, plenty of hot water decent towels and toiletries. At breakfast staff hadn't seem to realise that there weren't enough cups, spoons etc and only got them after asking. Breakfast plentiful. Only real negative is parking. we stayed overnight sunday / bank holiday monday so it was ok to park on the street. Not sure what you would do in the week, only 2 hrs allowed and the staff member we spoke to didn't offer any advice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverpoolcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baldock
0.8 mi away
purplehotel Baldock
purplehotel Baldock
#4 of 4 in Baldock
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George at Baldock
The George at Baldock
#1 of 4 in Baldock
88 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Letchworth
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,264 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templars Hotel and Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templars Hotel and Carvery

Property: Templars Hotel and Carvery
Address: 20 High Street, Baldock SG7 6AX, England (Formerly Zeus Hotel & Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Baldock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Baldock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Templars Hotel and Carvery 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Templars Hotel and Carvery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeus Hotel And Restaurant
Templars Hotel And Carvery Baldock, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing