We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stayover.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Templars Hotel and Carvery
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Baldock
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Weekend Stayover.”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night as it was recommended by a friend.Nice and clean,staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was good,cooked breakfast served to your table everything else was buffet style.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hattermick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    32
    21
    18
See reviews for
26
32
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Zeus hotel and restaurant was recommended by friends organising a wedding nearby. I would put our stay as nothing more than average. The room was comfortable but quite sparse for storing clothes. No hanging space in the bathroom for towels and a very difficult shower to operate to get water without serious scalding or freezing. If separate instructions need to be posted in the bathroom on how to operate a shower then I would say there is a problem which needs to be addressed. Breakfast was adequate and the tea and coffee was instant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Zeus for a party night on a Saturday evening. Checked in staff very friendly! Twin room very clean with hairdryer/TV/tea coffee making facilities. Beds very comfortable. Food in restaurant very good and lots of it. Can recommend the Keftedes, Moussaka and Strawberry Cheesecake. Greek cabaret - a bit cheesey but got everyone into the party mood. Plate smashing and belly dancing included + disco. Overall a great venue to celebrate a special event. Breakfast lovely with lots of choice.

Room Tip: Would ask for a room away from the front door/away from party room if you will be retiring early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexR728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We went to the Zeus for a family party and my wife and I booked to stay the night, I will start by reviewing the party.

This was the Greek party where there was a choice from a set menu and entertainment laid on. The party is held in a largish hall where each party of people have their own table, we were a party of 15. we were next to a rather rowdy hen party. The food was quite good, Some of the party were a little disappointed as Steak was orginally on the menu but was susequently withdrawn. I had had Keftides (meatballs) Kleftico (lamb) and a fruit salad. Which was quite nice, I think the rest of our party enjoyed their food too. The entertainment consisted of a man playing Greek music on a Bazooki, a chap going round finding out the reason for each tables celebration, and then singing happy birthday etc. There was a belly Dancer who was very good. She began by doing a Belly dance, the encouraged one person from each table to get up and have a go alongside her. Later there was Greek Dancers, who did a short dance and then organised a plate smashing dance, (Ladies only). Afterwards the chap who did the happy birthdays sang a number of the old standards whilst impersonating elvis, and getting people up to sing with him. Finally there was a disco which consisted of back to back disco favourites played on a lap top. It wasn't top quality entertainment but good fun if you got into the spirit of it.

Our rood was a double on the fist floor, there was no lift so we had to carry our bags upstairs. I don't know if there is ground floor accomodation for less able guests. The room was a double, with a nice large bed. But the room was so small thet there was only room for one bedside table & Lamp. The room was clean but the decor is a little tired, and in a true retro moment, the bed is made up with sheets and blankets. The room was comfortable enough and had a trouser press, a hospitality tray and a hairdryer. The en-suite in our room was a toilet and shower, no bath. My Daughter had a twin room next door and there were hairs in her shower.

I went to my room before the disco had finished at 1.00am and it could clearly be heard, some guests would find this a disturbance.

We had the cooked breakfast in the morning which was very nice, but let down by their using cheap sausages.

Overall it was a fun event, and we found the receptionist very helpful. But there were all sorts of minor things that could have been done better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rikblak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

On my own on business
Booked room @ 22:30
Checked in at 22:30 and left 05:30.
Would not reduce rate even though I did not want Breakfast.
Would not match late room rate but I could not be bothered to argue at that time of night.
Asked for a double bed but only got a twin, doubles were available.
Had to fight with the shower curtain in an attempt to keep the bathroom floor dry.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have stayed in a range of hotels! Good and bad, however never felt so compelled to write a review until my stay Zeus.
My room was disgusting, smelt of stale alcohol and felt really unclean. The bed was hard and there was no duvet cover, just a thin polyester bedcover. The bathroom smelt exactly the same as my old school toilets and the water glass was dirty. Everything smelt of stale beer, it was grim. Needless to say I checked out straight away and booked in at holiday inn express in Stevenage. The receptionist did not even apologise!
Please don't waste your money staying here, there are so many other great value places to stay in the area which put this hotel to shame.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baldock hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We went to one of the Greek party nights here for a Christmas party and found that the food was pretty good, the greek entertainment was fun (plate smashing was great!) and the disco was reasonable. We went to bed once the disco had ended (2am on a Friday night) so were not kept awake due to noise - I can see this would be a problem for non party-going guests. The bed was quite small so we were a little cramped, and the duvet was a blanket covered with a sheet - not brilliant. The rooms are very out dated - I know this is probably in-keeping with the age of the building but there is a line - extremely floral wallpaper and aged bathroom suite.

Breakfast the next morning was very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baldock
0.1 mi away
The George at Baldock
The George at Baldock
#1 of 4 in Baldock
85 reviews
0.8 mi away
purplehotel Baldock
purplehotel Baldock
#4 of 4 in Baldock
7 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Letchworth
214 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
4.9 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templars Hotel and Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templars Hotel and Carvery

Property: Templars Hotel and Carvery
Address: 20 High Street, Baldock SG7 6AX, England (Formerly Zeus Hotel & Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Baldock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Baldock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Templars Hotel and Carvery 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Templars Hotel and Carvery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeus Hotel And Restaurant
Templars Hotel And Carvery Baldock, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing