We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Baldock

“A Big thumbs up!”
Review of Old White Horse

Old White Horse
Ranked #5 of 43 Restaurants in Baldock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Old White Horse is a neighbourhood hangout serving freshly made artisan pizzas, bubbling pots of comfort food and seriously tasty beers. We have a function room available for special occasions, car parking on site and a generous family-friendly garden. We also welcome our canine friends in our bar area.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying locally and stumbled across The Old White Horse by accident. We were greeted warmly and although we were a little early for food we were decided to stay. Im glad we did! The service was excellent and friendly and the menu was varied, very reasonably priced and even had some unusual Vegan options. My husband had the turkey Hot Pot and I had the Stuffed Buternut Squash - both were DELICIOUS! Loved the décor and the recycled doors and we will definitley return. Thank you

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JulesK47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 163 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2019

Never had bad pizza at the White Horse before, and usually our experiences are great. However, due to one member of staff this was a bad experience!

We ordered a Toni Pizza and a standard Flatbread with added cheese. They do 2 different Flatbread, Flatbread or Garlic Flatbread, my wife doesn't eat tomato and usually this is usually a perfectly fine request. The barmaid put it through as cheesy garlic bread with no garlic which was very odd as it's never been put through the till like that and cost more, then she goes to the pizza oven and has a laugh in earshot (assume she didn't know we were there) of us and says "who orders cheesy garlic bread with no garlic? He came to the bar and ordered that" Firstly I never even mentioned 'garlic' not once then she continues to mentions and laughs about it to other people at a different table.

She needs to seriously grow up, understand people may have allergies, and stop making stuff up infront of customers! Very poor! Heard her complain and laugh about other customer orders whilst at the pizza oven too!

Wil be happy to discuss this experience, or our previous far more positive experiences!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank ryan4439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2019 via mobile

The pub is lovely and we had some lovely drinks, the bar staff were all very friendly and helpful. Best part was they served Patron Cafe XO so we had to have a few cheeky shots of tequila.
Thank you
Mark Pritchard

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank thedevilsteardrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2019 via mobile

We love the old White Horse and always come here when we want to go for a drink in baldock.

Lovely modern but homely atmosphere, great pizza's and friendly staff. The new manager seems great and the live music every Friday is usually very good.

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank Sandstullyhyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2019 via mobile

We’ve been to the Old White Horse a few times now and over the last couple of years it’s managed to keep doing what it does well, which seems difficult for so many other places.

There is always a warm welcome, the atmosphere is great and above all the beer and food is very good for what you pay for.

Well done guys and girls, keep it up

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank I_am_Cerberus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old White Horse also viewed

Baldock, Hertfordshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 
Baldock, Hertfordshire
 
Baldock, Hertfordshire
Baldock, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Old White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing