We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Jester Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$81
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$56
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Letchworth Garden City Hotel(Letchworth)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Broadway Hotel(Letchworth)
$104
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Stevenage North Hotel(Stevenage)(Great Value!)
$60
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$60
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
34
38
21
11
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
38
21
11
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunder new managementrailway stationservice was efficient and friendlycooked perfectlythe pubchristmas dayfeel welcomenice foodgood sizecourse mealfamily lunchplenty of parkingstayed for one nightwould stay againtea and coffeeweddingroyston
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 123 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Myself and my husband got married at the jester whilst Stephane and Natacha were the managers. We had a fantastic wedding and they had brilliant attention to detail, it was the perfect day. Since our wedding we have been regular customers and enjoyed every visit. We went a couple of weeks ago and was greeted well by Anthea (who served us at our wedding)but the man behind the bar who appeared to be the new manager didn't acknowledge us. We had a drink and was taken to our table. We ordered our food and were shocked to wait for such a long time before we received it! When it finally appeared, the steak was really overcooked and the salmon was frozen in the middle! We mentioned it to the manager and he just said "sorry"! We had a fantastic wedding there and we aren't the type of people to complain but unfortunately we will not be able to recommend the jester to any of our friends or family anymore. Bring back the old jester that we enjoyed so much!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeevans52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

A group of 12 of us stayed at the Jester last June. We attended a wedding a few miles away from the Jester, so the location was very handy for us.
The rooms are simple and a bit dated but certainly did the job - a place to rest our heads for the night.
For the price, the hotel was good value and the staff were lovely and very helpful, especially as they too were hosting a wedding function the night we were staying there.
The complimentary cooked breakfasts were nice the next morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SW1LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We've always enjoyed lovely, mid-week, evening meals here - the food is great and the service and environment is friendly, never rushed, never forgotten.....but then something happens during the weekend and all relaxed, friendliness is replaced with a strange distant, "really rather you hadn't ruined our weekend approach to customers". Sunday Lunch wasn't a good experience; which we didn't expect owing to it's popularity. We went to the bar to order our food as is usually the norm in carveries, but we were asked to find a table and a waitress woud take our order - so we did. After a 10 minute wait I nipped to the bar to ask if we could let them know what we wanted so we could go to the carvery. The waitress told us she'd forgotten about us, but still insisted on coming to the table to take our order. The waitress said the chef would be ready to serve us soon...we waited, and waited - watched a very large party leave the restaurant without eating as they'd been waiting a very, very long time. The chef appeared at the carvery so we went up to get our lunch, the choice was Beef or Pork, beef was more expensive - the chef asked what we were having, he served us with one very thick slice of our chosen meat and we helped ourselves to vegetables and went back to our table to eat - the chef disappeared for another 10-15 mins and customers were getting a little irritated, and he was nowhere to be seen - but the manager didn't pay any attention to the mounting customers and the lack of staff, and wasn't really that bothered that customers were leaving before eating, in fact I don't even think he noticed - weird - Our meal was quite good - but sadly the beef was really tough, we mentioned this to the manageress and she just said "Oh sorry" and looked bewildered, at the end of the meal we went to pay at the bar and no note had been taken of our meal choices or our drinks.....a disorganised, badly managed mess....I hope they improve, as their mid-week service is great.....

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurstys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I spent an evening in the Jester's recently with my wife. It was truly awful, we could not find anyone to check in, our room was very dirt with what looked like either red wine or sick stains up our wall. Towels smelt of mould and the bed sheets did not feel clean. Breakfast was served by a rude waitress and really bad (microwaved), conservatory where breakfast is served was dirty, full of cobwebs and crap art. Would avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AS1979London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel gives a good room and good breakfast. However it can be noisy due to the trains passing a few times an hour. Also pub guests make it sometimes noisy.
But the atmosphere is good and the people are very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albapix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews