We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch!”

Callenders Restaurant
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 10/15
8:00 PM
Ranked #7 of 60 Restaurants in Hailsham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A modern restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and evening meals,it is perfect for a romantic meal for two, or spacious enough for dinner for forty. Tastefully decorated by local artists and fully wheelchair accessible throughout. Located at the top of the High street, where there are no parking charges, it is within easy walking distance of all the towns other amenities, leisure centre , cinema, wine bar etc.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited Callenders for lunch today.
There was a really good selection on the menu as well as a specials board.
My husband had the Mediterranean sea bass with vegetables and roasted new potatoes and I had the Mac and cheese accompanied by garlic bread and a salad. Both dishes were amazing but I think their Macaroni cheese is possibly the best I have had anywhere (and I've had a few!) It was creamy, cheesy and delicious. We followed with Individual banoffee pie and treacle pudding with custard both of which were also delicious.
The staff were friendly and the service was excellent.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank S_Lawrence_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killian C, owner at Callenders Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Mrs Lawrence, thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review us. The Mac & Cheese is very popular at lunch time and I'm so glad that you have joined the growing number of people who think it's the best. I'm delighted that your husband enjoyed his lunch too. I have passed your compliments on to all the staff and they really look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks with kindest regards and best wishes from all at Callenders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this lovely restaurant for Sunday lunch which was excellent and good value for money. we were served by a very polite young man. A very nice setting for lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank roycopley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killian C, Review Manager. at Callenders Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Roycopley, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Callenders really is a great setting for Sunday lunch and we're all so glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope you can come again soon, and don't forget that Monday to Friday from 12;00-3:00 we have a fantastic value fixed priced menu starting at £9.95 for two courses. Again many thanks for the review and rating and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes and kindest regards from all the staff at Callenders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

Visited Callenders for mother’s special birthday. There was 9 of us and we all wanted something quite different, a vegan, a vegetarian and then a mix of fish /meat eaters. All had starters, mains and most of us had desserts or liqueur coffees. All piping hot and very tasty.
Very warm welcome given.
Wine and drinks good too.
All the food was delicious, no complaints , very attentive service and mum was made to feel special by the staff.
Will keep coming back here as the menu is quite varied and they also have specials too.
Thoroughly enjoyed our night out together and very reasonably priced.
Will be back soon.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank caz226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killian C, Guest Happiness Manager. at Callenders Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

Hello cazz226,
Thank you for taking the time out to review us we really do appreciate your kind comments. We are all so glad that you enjoyed your visit and we are particularly delighted that your Mother was well looked after. As you know we cater to all diets and are glad that everyone had a nice selection to choose from, but if there is ever anything we can do for you in the future, not on any of our menus, please do just let us know.
We look forward, very much, to seeing you again soon. Kindest regards and many thanks from myself and all the staff at Callenders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2019

Looked up online today before calling in for lunch.Seats about 40 people-only about 18 sat down today.
Same menu was on offer for set menu -BUT no plaice available;then asked if plenty of sweets listed still available-oh no problem-so was told not to order at same time.
Should have walked out as the choice I wanted was not available-despite it being set in stone every day Mon-Fri(lunch & dinner)
What we ended up with was good and well presented-but niggled shortages happened.What a pity it occurred the day we decided to have a treat.
Service was not as slick as should have been with such numbers-we ended up rushing our sweet as down to last 10 minutes for car parking limit.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mprice867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killian C, Owner at Callenders Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2019

Hello mprice. I'm so sorry that out of your many visits to us you were upset today, and am very saddened that it was on the day you decided to treat yourself. Let me apologise...The plaice for our two course £9.95 menu is delivered fresh daily and is not always available, and scampi is offered as an alternative, as is stated on the menu. While there may have been 18 people seated while you were there, there were more in before you, and more after you, and when dealing with fresh produce, cooked to order, locally and seasonally sourced nothing is "set in stone".
I am confused about your dessert comment as the desserts you ordered were available and served to you, both of which were on the menu.

I am glad you agree that what you had was good and well presented, and with both you and your guest enjoying two courses each (freshly prepared & all cooked to order) and drinks for a total price of £19.90 I don't think that anyone serves up better value than that. I do hope you will visit us again soon, and if you park outside the restaurant where there are no parking limits you can dine at your leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019 via mobile

We went for Sunday lunch it was amazing the food was delicious there was 11 of us and they managed no problem our server was jack who was incredible it was like being in a 5 star restaurant the service was that good well worth a visit if you’re in the area highly recommend

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank karlleew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killian C, General Manager at Callenders Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2019

Hello karlleew, many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are all so glad that you and you lovely family had such a nice day. we do hope you can visit us again soon. many thanks and kindest regards from all the staff at Callenders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Callenders Restaurant also viewed

Hailsham, East Sussex
Hailsham, East Sussex
 
Upper Dicker, Hailsham
Hailsham, East Sussex
 
Hailsham, East Sussex
 

Been to Callenders Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing