We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The splendid BRICK castle and current UK observatory”

Gardens & Grounds of Herstmonceux Castle
Ranked #4 of 19 things to do in Hailsham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Herstmonceux is renowned for its magnificent moated castle, set in beautiful parkland and superb Elizabethan gardens. The Gardens and Grounds of Herstmonceux Castle embodies the history of medieval England and the romance of renaissance Europe. Your experience begins as you make your way through the grounds and the castle breaks into view. The castle gardens and grounds are home to a staggering variety of flora and fauna with wild orchids, formal rose gardens, Canada geese and resident peacock all adding to the charm of such an individual location. Various events take place throughout the year including theatre productions, operatic performances and most famously the Medieval Festival. Castle tours are provided but because the castle operates as an International Study Centre we advise visitors to call in advance to avoid disappointment.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

WE visited the castle and was given a guided tour of the inside by a very jovial/knowledgeable guide. We then went onto the the Observatory, very very interesting, well worth the visit

Thank bigalw35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerstmonceuxCastle, Manager at Gardens & Grounds of Herstmonceux Castle, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear bigalw35

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor world, it is greatly appreciated.

We always recommend that visitors team their visit with the Observatory Science Centre as both attractions make for a full and varied day out. The Science Centre is especially popular with children and the Gardens & Grounds of Herstmonceux Castle is popular with people looking for a relaxing stroll around our formal gardens and woodland.

The castle tours are also interesting for people to learn how the castle functions as a modern International Study Centre as well as the history.

All the best, not long until we open for our 2013 season, if only the weather would get a bit drier and warmer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 272 of 316 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having written one review on this castle all ready, I will leave you the reader - to go and find it. Today, I just want to add some photo's and tell you about one other cheaper event at this Castle... On May 19th 2013, the castle will be open for the usual low admission price... BUT, they'll also be a free have a go archery and falconry demonstration going on. How cool is that? Meanwhile, if you get the chance to wander around, be careful, be quiet and you may just see one of the stunning Stags that seem have decided that the castle is just about Majestic enough to turn into their own residence!!
This week, I went to the Castle on business, you would have no idea how helpful and accommodating their staff can be. So if your planning a wedding or an event, it really is worth asking and seeing the staff at this Castle - it's actually far more reasonable than you would think!

Thank SussexLadyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerstmonceuxCastle, Manager at Gardens & Grounds of Herstmonceux Castle, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Indeed, we are really looking forward to the Archery and Birds of Prey Day. We have details on the website for more information.

Thank you for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Disappointed that I could not go around it as mostly private when I was there: I believe it is a school/college

Thank jpc1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerstmonceuxCastle, Manager at Gardens & Grounds of Herstmonceux Castle, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear jpc1517

Thank you for taking the time to review the Gardens & Grounds of Herstmonceux Castle. Our gardens and grounds are indeed a beautiful place to relax and spend time in. The castle itself is an international study centre but we do hold daily tours throughout our season where visitors can learn a bit more about the history and how the castle functions. We advise to call in advance for times but also publish the times on our website.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Science Centre at entrance much better value. Great for children, kept ours amused for nearly a whole day. Best to take a picnic lunch.

Thank PENELOPE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerstmonceuxCastle, Manager at Gardens & Grounds of Herstmonceux Castle, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear PENELOPE A

Thank you for taking the time to review the Gardens & Grounds of Herstmonceux Castle. We agree that if you are looking for an educational day out the the Science Centre is excellent value. We try where possible to let our visitors know that the castle is only open for tours and to call in advance to avoid disappointment. Our 600 acres of grounds are great value for people looking to have a long walk or wonder the formal Elizabethan gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

A really good day out on a sunny day. A step back in time with smells of bonfires, tents and weapons with all the drama of a medieval village.

Prices are a little steep but what isn't anymore.
Recomend taking a picnic and getting there early.

Thank 2Silverclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerstmonceuxCastle, Manager at Gardens & Grounds of Herstmonceux Castle, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear sussexeast2west

Thank you for your review and we are so glad you had a great day out. The castle hosts the event and we will share your feedback on admission costs with the event organisers.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gardens & Grounds of Herstmonceux Castle also viewed

 

Been to Gardens & Grounds of Herstmonceux Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing