We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olde Forge Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 12 Hailsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Worth the visit!!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a fantastic stay, excellent food, great variety, well cooked, fresh, (even made the bread!) and a joy to behold. Very clean and cosy room with seperate private bathrom. Philip and Nicky were very friendly and helpful. The log fires in the dining room and bar were very welcoming and suted the oak beamed rooms. The only disturbance we had was from late movement by other guests after a night out. Otherwise bliss.
We stayed 2nd November and will certainly consider staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    37
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
45
95
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

stayed at the olde forge for one night with wife and two friends had a fantastic time the food was out of this world the room was clean and comfortable.Phill and Nicky were the complete hosts and made us so welcome and the next morning breakfast was to die for.Thanks again for a fantastic night.Paul and Di

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porky7855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

What a wonderful find! The Olde Forge Hotel is a superb place to stay. Philip and Nicky are welcoming and friendly. They were especially caring as I was unwell and I felt they were really concerned for my wellbeing. Not many hotel owners would have sat with my husband while he ate his dinner,as I was confined to the bedroom! The accommodation was spotless, the beds comfortable and the food delicious. We shall certainly be visiting again, so we can try more of the delights on the menu!
Philip & Nicky thank you, it was great to meet you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

we booked at the last minute and were very pleased with our choice. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is small and cosy. As are the bed rooms. All of the amenities you would expect. Very clean throughout the Hotel. Lovely log fire in the evening in the restaurant. The food during our stay was brilliant. Plenty of choice on the menu to cover all tastes and cooked to perfection. Our food was served promptly and professionally. The hotel is well placed to explore local attractions. Good value for money. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberley503920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here after a leaking roof at the Boship Hotel left us with nowhere to stay at short notice and we had a wedding reception to get to. The hosts, Nicky and Phil were very welcoming, checked us in quickly and after we got changed, rang around the local cab companies for us until they found one that could come and get us straight away. Phil had even offered to drive us to the wedding reception if there wasn't one available which was very kind.

I think the room we stayed in was called Linden, upstairs at the end of the corridor. The room was large, with a TV, tea/coffee making facilities and a good shower so it had everything we needed. There is a sitting area downstairs with games and a small bar. We were given a key to let ourselves in the outside door when we returned from the reception late. The fantastic cooked to order fry up did much to soothe our sore heads the next day and there was also cereal, fruit and yoghurt available.

Our impression of this place was that it's more of a cross between a hotel and a B&B which may account for some of the comments in other reviews, as it depends on what you are expecting. For our needs for this trip it suited us perfectly and we wished we'd booked here in the first place.

We told the owners we'd write a review but didn't get around to it until now so apologies for the tardiness!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perivalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a family run hotel with an excellent chef who will adapt any meal to the customers request.
The rooms are clean and the atmosphere is very friendly and personal.
We had a wonderfull time and will return ..

Room Tip: Back room I would think less traffic noise but this did not bother us at the front very much
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

There were two reasons why we chose this hotel.
Our first two choices were fully booked and the reviews.

What a disappointment. This is probably the worst hotel I have stayed in.
It was our wedding anniversary and I burst into tears!

I agree with a previous reviewer that everything seems to be done to make the owners lives as easy as possible.

We were asked to email our dinner choice 4 days before we arrived,
were informed that we could not check in between 1 and 4 pm as they would be resting and on having been asked when we would like dinner were asked if they could make it 7.45, in between an earlier and later order.

We checked in before 1 and then found ourselves having to kill time driving around until 4. My husband couldn’t drink at lunch as he was driving and there isn’t a pub within walking distance of the hotel.

I agree the rooms are clean and that is the best that can be said. The decor is extremely dated and the room tiny. The bed was pushed up against the wall so I had to climb over my husband to get in. I felt like I was at Uni again. Phillip informed us he didn’t usually put the heating on in September but there was a fan heater in the cupboard which we used as it was cold.

The food is definitely not gourmet. My mushroom starter came swimming in oil and the mozzarella topping was white and hadn’t seen a grill. The Dauphinoise potatoes didn’t seem to have any cream and the veggies were bland. On a positive note the duck was perfectly pink but could have had a crispy skin so it wasn’t so fatty. The most delicious thing was the ice cream which was made locally. Phillip also knows how to make a good poached egg.

All this wouldn’t have been so bad if it was good value for money but we have stayed in some gorgeous hotels with four poster beds in the country for £100 and eaten michelin food for £30 a head.

Nicky and Phillip are very amiable, friendly & chatty but it takes more than that to create a hotel that makes people feel special, comfortable and want to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aziburak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipandNicky, Owner at Olde Forge Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are sorry to learn that your overnight stay with us was not the experience that you had envisaged. Judging by our reviews, the vast majority of our guests enjoy the cuisine and hospitality that we offer at The Olde Forge.

It is not our intention to disect your review line by line as we, along with most of our guests, have apposing views on your comments, however we would like to raise two matters.

We think to call our rooms "tiny" is unfair. We specifically draw attention to the fact that our rooms are not large on our website so as to ensure guests expectation levels as regards room size, are realistic.

Secondly, we would always suggest that guests bring to our attention any matters of concern so that we may be able to resolve these matters during their stay, for example we would have been able to offer you an alternative bedroom if you had a problem with the one first allocated to you. As unfortunately you raised none of this at the time, and departed without even saying goodbye, you did not give us this opportunity.

We would like to thank you very much for highlighting our high standards of cleanliness and the specific mention you made about the hospitality offered by ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hailsham
2.4 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
498 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Hellingly Eastbourne
5.7 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
7.4 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
166 reviews
9.0 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Forge Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Forge Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Olde Forge Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Magham Down, Hailsham BN27 1PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hailsham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hailsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olde Forge Hotel and Restaurant, once the home of an old forge, still maintains its original open fires and timber beams and offers guests a relaxing haven away from the busy stresses of every day life with a warm welcome and friendly, informal atmosphere.Situated in the heart of the lovely Wealden countryside this family owned hotel is close to many National Trust properties, historic castles and glorious gardens with Beachy Head and The Seven Sisters also in easy reach. The restaurant – once an original 16th century forge, is renowned locally for its high standard of cuisine and service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olde Forge Hotel And Restaurant Hailsham, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing