We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pekes Manor, Manor House” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pekes Manor Oast House

Pekes Manor Oast House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hailsham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pekes Manor Oast House
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Pekes Manor, Manor House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed in the main manor house for a long weekend - an extended family get-together for a 40th birthday. The setting is absolutely beautiful - views over the English countryside, lovely grounds including a walled garden with chickens, and a huge lawn to run around/play ball games. The house itself is an amazing Tudor building with wonderful wood panelling, a huge kitchen, etc. I never quite worked out how all the staircases and rooms linked together even after 3 days. There is a great sense of history being there (though alas the alleged ghost in armour did not appear). It's not luxurious in a new-hotel kind of way - things are a bit worn and old here and there - but fine for us. We visited in an unusually freezing spring (2C) and in that weather the swimming pool, though indoors, was chilly (usable for a short while if you braced yourself!). In warmer weather I'm sure it would be lovely. All in all: a perfect place for an unpretentious family house party. We are actively considering returning to one of the smaller properties for an ordinary family holiday one summer. Oh, and Bentley Wildfowl and Motor Museum is a good family day out only 10 mins' drive away.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nich0las72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent last weekend on the Pekes Manor Estate. Celebrating a friend's 30th, there were 16 of us (including my 1 year old son) spread over the Oast House and Gate Cottage. The Gate Cottage is very lovely with all the amentities you could want. It has a very cosy cottagey feel about it. As the majority of us were in the Oast House, this is where we spent our time.

The Oast House has so much character with very pretty views. The property was very clean, and easy to clean. We spent our mealtimes around the ample dining table in the kitchen. The beds were very comfortable, especially the four poster double and there was plenty of bathroom space given the amount of people staying under one roof. If you are looking to go away with couples the only thing is there is only one double bedroom within the Oast House. The others have a double + twin, 3 single beds and one room with a single. There is an option to have a double sofa bed in the dining room downstairs and extra beds are available. We didn't find this to be a problem, especially as we also had the Gate Cottage to our disposal which has 2 double private bedrooms.

The leisure facilities were great too. We all used the pool, sauna and hot tub, which were much more appreciated once we realised you had to add a £1 or 2 to heat them up!

Eva, the lady who owns the property and lives on site is very sweet. She came and met us and checked that everything was ok.

I would definitely recommend this place as somewhere very traditional and a little different to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

My husband and I, with our two cockers spaniels, spent a long weekend at Tudor Cottage in early December 2011, primarily as it is close to my elderly parents' home in Seaford. It was a little tricky to find, but once we did we were very pleasantly surprised. The cottage was extremely warm (a bit too warm if anything, despite the frost outside!) and very spacious. During our stay we had a family get together, and found the kitchen table and equipment perfectly adequate for a lunch for 8.

The whole time we were at the cottage, we did not see another soul on the estate, and the peace and quiet was amazing. There were some great places to walk the dogs from the door of the cottage, and it's a very pretty rural area.

To the detractors, yes the decor and furnishings are a little dated, yes the crockery and cutlery are functional rather than showy, but this is a holiday cottage not a five star hotel! What you do get is spotlessly clean, spacious accommodation in a beautiful position in the home counties for a reasonable price. Go if you are looking for a holiday with long walks and to enjoy the English countryside, nature and peace. Don't if you are after a towny, sanitised version of the countryside with blinged up accommodation, and don't want to get any mud on your Jimmy Choos!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandinRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Myself and a group of friends stayed at the Oast House at Pekes for a long weekend this June and had a brilliant time. We were a group of 10 and the accommodation was perfect - plenty of room. The house has a lot of charm and character - with all the necessary failities you need - particulary a well equiped kitchen and the BBQ was great. The grounds around the house are really well kept and the overall setting of Pekes is stunning. The owners also took care of a Tescos delivery before we arrived and had all the food put away which was really helpful of them. Couldn't reccommend The Oast house more!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danivanhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

We were two families - One with two teengagers and one with a girl of 7 years. We had the loveliest stay ay the Oast house. Loved the swimming pool, the jacoozy, the spacious and well equipt kitchen, the gardens and... the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

I just had to post this review because I was astonished to see all the good reviews posted here. Me and a group of friends (there were about 15 of us) rented out a couple of the cottages for 3 nights over the summer. The place was dire - it was lasted decorated in the 70s!! Everything just felt so tired and tacky. The owners are an eldery couple who clearly don't have the money to spend on redecoration and maintenance. The swimming pool and hot tub were sooo disappointing. Plus they made us bring our own loo roll and bedding - what sort of place does that?!? And only informs you after you've made the booking and deposit?!? I would not go back.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank PamT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

I chose the Oast House to be the venue for my best friends 4 day Hen weekend and I was not disappointed.

We enjoyed the log fires, the long country walks, the swimming pool, tennis courts and we definitely got the most out of the hot tub!

We had Tesco deliver a huge amount of shopping which the management of the house so kindly put away for us for the time we arrived. We got in an outside caterer for the Saturday night whom I can't recommend enough (mentioned on the Pekes website)


We had such a wonderful time, everything worked out so well and the bride to be had such a lovely time.


I know that everyone enjoyed themselves immensely and I know that everyone will be very eager to recommend the Pekes houses in the future.

Perfect for a girlie getaway (there were 12 of us) and such excellent value!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shell_bell_shell_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hailsham hotels
1.5 mi away
Starnash Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
6.2 mi away
The Horseshoe Inn
The Horseshoe Inn
#2 of 5 in Herstmonceux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
3.2 mi away
Corn Exchange
Corn Exchange
#12 of 12 in Hailsham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Cleavers Lyng
Cleavers Lyng
#1 of 5 in Herstmonceux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
7.2 mi away
Scolfes
Scolfes
#1 of 3 in Hailsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
6.6 mi away
Big Sky Tipi Holidays
Big Sky Tipi Holidays
#2 of 3 in Hailsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pekes Manor Oast House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pekes Manor Oast House

Property: Pekes Manor Oast House
Address: Pekes House Nash Street | Chiddingly, Hailsham BN27 4AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hailsham
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hailsham
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pekes Houses are a group of 5 self-catering houses and cottages set round Pekes Manor, a charming 550 year old Tudor House, all in a very large garden with its own park & with superb views across the East Sussex countryside in SE England, within 10 miles of the sea. Pekes Oast House is a charming 2-storey double tower oast, originally built over 150 years ago for drying hops, and converted in 1910 into a comfortable house that sleeps up to 12 people, with a large kitchen, dining room and sitting room, with a large garden and views west across to the South Downs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pekes Manor Oast House Hotel Hailsham
Pekes Manor Oast House Hailsham, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing