We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of The White Horse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brancaster Staithe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Horse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We travelled between Christmas and New Year 2012 with our 3 month old and our basset. The cot provided was as good as his cot at home and the room was spacious, clean and one of the best dog friendly rooms I’ve ever stayed in. On our second night when our son was not wanting to settle the staff could not have been more helpful!! They were more than happy for us to have our restaurant food delivered as room service with a quick call to reception between courses! This was a fantastic stay made all the better by the helpfulness and politeness of the staff. A huge thank you to everyone who had a hand in making our first holiday with our son truly memorable.

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the rooms in the hotel but the garden rooms which as all dog friendly were v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 616 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

After staying at this very good Pub/Restaurant/Hotel in 2010 we decided then we would book again when we next visited North Norfolk. Once again the overall experience was very positive but with a couple of negatives this time. The food is very good but not quite as good as they think it is! A little more effort on quality rather than OTT presentation would be good. If and when something goes wrong as it always will at some time, an honest explanation and apology is all that is required not a ridiculous excuse that is an insult to ones intelligence! A bit of staff training needed there.
That said, the young staff are all very pleasant and helpful and the manageress a delight.
The room we were in overlooked the marsh, the cleanliness was excellent but it is fairly close to what I presume is the exhaust flue for the hotel boiler and it is quite noisy when the windows are open. The room would also benefit from an illuminated shaving/makeup mirror as the bathroom lighting and wall mirror meant I was shaving by memory!
The White Horse still deserves its very good rating it just doesn't quite deserve excellent.
We will probably be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on their dinner, bed and breakfast Christmas package and it was one of the most enjoyable Christmas's we have had.
Quite often we go abroad for some Winter sun at Christmas as a couple so this was a first for us with our 2 year old Labrador Retriever!

We booked one of the dog friendly rooms by the car park and were really happy with the spacious room (room 4) with plenty of space for a dog crate in the wooden floor area by the door to keep him contained when necessary! No view but a little patio area for each of the 8 rooms which would be nice in the Summer. Some nice little Festive touches in the room which we appreciated.

Room: Plenty of storage, nice bathroom, very small tv, full length mirror, mirror over table, hair dryer in drawer (I'm talking to the ladies here!), housekeeping very good - especially as we had a sometimes muddy / sandy dog. Double bed, nice duvet but pillows a bit lumpy. We found the room to be very warm so turned off the radiator and kept the windows open after the first night and had no noise disruption from outside. It was lovely and quiet apart from dog snoring in the corner!

Hotel: we arrived Christmas Eve and had a seamless friendly check in and were shown to our room. Went into the Bar for a quick bite - sandwiches were ok but only quibble is think if they can qijserve hand cut fries in the Restaurant then they can serve them in the Bar as it is adjoining.

Christmas Eve dinner was good, Christmas Day lunch was very good, the evening buffet for residents only was also very good and Boxing Day dinner was lovely. Service was excellent - they run as a very efficient team. Manageress was always on hand.

Basically we liked the place so much that apart from calling in at the Jolly Sailor down the road for a drink after the marshland coastal walks - very muddy and single file if you stick to the path - we ate at the white Horse all the time! The mussels were fantastic, the beer and wine great with friendly bar staff - what more could you ask for?! Very dog friendly in the Bar and we met some really nice people - plenty of locals along with visitors.

Went to nearby Brancaster beach for lovely walks. Basically did nothing but chill in lovely warm welcoming surroundings.

Can't recommend the place highly enough and we are already looking at possibly returning early March.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newboldbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Family celebration for 13 plus 2 babies. Service was good and the toddlers had been thoughtfully catered for . However the food was very disappointing. If you chose fish and chips or ribeye steak,they were fine ,but they don't require a great deal of skill to cook well. We were expecting a treat as we had chosen in advance. The presentation was awful, completely devoid of colour. The pork belly was just one mass of brown and the huge accompaniment of prune and apricot was more like eating Christmas pudding.
My whole sole was well cooked and delicate fish but swimming in butter with greasy potatoes , again the whole dish one unappetising colour.
The pheasant although tender was lacking in flavour and frying the legs in breadcrumb simply didn't work . Accompaniment was red cabbage so again the plate was just one dark colour.
My starter was supposed to be bouillabaisse with tempura prawns. There were 3 prawns but no tempura.
The surroundings were lovely if a little dark. A shame as we had really been looking forward to it. We must have chosen an off day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank JeanNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Excellent lunch at short notice - staff were very accommodating. Perfect food, imaginative menu, great views across the marshes. Conservatory was very busy - obviously popular with locals and others. Well worth travelling for

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PhilDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our third stay here, rooms as nice and comfy as ever, service good. Food in the restaurant in our opinion had gotten better since our last visit and was truly excellent. The portions were very ample, food was very fresh and presented beautifully. What disappoined us was the fact that staff were at times standing around partaking in vocally elevated conversations, in a somewhat argumentative at times whilst in ear shot of the guests both in the small area enjoying pre dinner drinks and also eating in the restaurant area. I have no qualms with staff chatting but deal with whatever issues they have away from the earshot of guests. I did as suggested write my comments on the card issued and left my details but no one responded to this. Very disappointing. Except for this my score would have been a 4.

Room Tip: Request a sea view, lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SHEEPY2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

White was great for lunch on Thursday for our daughters birthday. We asked for a window overlooking the marshes and that is exactly what we were given. the meal was great fish and chips all round and with wonderful pease pudding!

Stayed: November 2012
1  Thank AndyHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brancaster Staithe
2.4 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,352 reviews
2.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
864 reviews
2.6 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
898 reviews
7.1 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
930 reviews
7.4 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Address: Main Road, Brancaster Staithe PE31 8BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Brancaster Staithe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brancaster Staithe
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Brancaster Staithe
The White Horse Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing