We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Hotel
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just spent one night at the ship and wished we could have stayed longer. Great food, excellent wine list and great staff. The room was gorgeous with real attention to detail. Thank you for a great experience, we will be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank troyano1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    91
    42
    21
    15
See reviews for
64
258
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked into the Ship Hotel for a romantic weekend away and it lived up to the good reviews. We were welcomed by friendly staff and shown up to our room which was stylish, clean and in-keeping with the look of the hotel. We stayed in room 1 (deluxe) with a king size bed - very spacious. Nice bathroom as well with bath and shower. We had all we needed for one night with shampoo, shower gel, hairdryer, tea & coffee etc and modern gadgets with flat screen TV and radio with IPod plug in. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant as well, again good service, and the breakfast was good too with buffet and full English available. Good value for money given the breakfast is included.

The only slight negative is the sound of the pub below you when you get to bed (which shut around 11.30pm) and the occasional traffic outside - but we're used to living in a quiet village!

Good location to enjoy the Norfolk coastal path - head to Brancaster beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed for Valentines night and had a wonderful time.We had room number 9 a large room at the top of the building with a king size bed roll top bath and large shower superb!. Dinner was a special valentines menu including matching wines, oysters to start followed by venison then pudding and coffee and chocolates delicious and beautifully presented and served by well trained staff.After a good night sleep in the most comfortable of beds we had a full English breakfast followed by a three hour walk on lovley Brancaster beach to walk it off. A lovely hotel/pub in a beautiful part of the world very relaxing I would not hesitate to recommend it ,good value especially compered to other offerings in North West Norfolk

Room Tip: Number 9 good but beware of the church clock (only a bit intrusive)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick_hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We've eaten lunch here 4 or five times since the Flying Kiwis took over, and it has been consistently excellent.
The pub area at the front attracts a lot of walkers and locals, while the large open rooms at the back are more for families. They've got a number of tables in assorted smaller rooms which are good for a larger party eating lunch or supper.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmarkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We called in to the Ship for a fish and chip lunch. Service was good and the pub was comfortably busy. The fish was delicious, but for me the chunky chips were mealy, not crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside, but quite pallid and hard almost as if they needed extra cooking, (husband was ok with his though). We have had haddock and chips as a takeaway from this pub in the past and the chips were much better - more like normal sized chips, and not hard. Dessert was nice, ice creams were ok. It was slightly overpriced, middling pub food, but I would go again and avoid the chunky chips!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herewardtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Due to a family illness we had not booked anything for New Year this year and once things were settles around 3pm New Years Eve I cheekily rang The Ship to ask if they by any chance had a room for a couple of nights. They had one room and were having a set dinner on New Years Eve. My wife is vegetarian so I asked if it was possible to have one veggie. The answer was a resounding yes so a trip up from London to Brancaster in pouring rain to be welcomed by The staff at the Ship just in time to change and get to a fantastic dinner for both myself and my wife. We stayed 2 nights in room 9 and had a great time. Would recommend The Ship to anyone as the staff were so helpful and food fantastic

Room Tip: We have stayed twice, both times in different rooms and both were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BucksMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Just spent four nights in room 5, sorry to report we are now travelling home. Excellent room, lovely food (best sausage ever for breakfast - probably made by Sir Arthur of Wells!) Superb staff, friendly and efficient without being obtrusive.
The room had a 6 foot bed which was extremely comfortable and the bathroom featured a double sink and a superb power shower. DB&B deal good value for this part of the world.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brancaster Staithe
0.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
794 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
867 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
8.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Hotel

Property: The Ship Hotel
Address: Main Road, Brancaster Staithe PE31 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Brancaster Staithe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brancaster Staithe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing