We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute, dog-friendly cottage; comfortable...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Bolthole

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Front view Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
58 reviews
Living Room
Front view
Living Room
Bedroom
Kitchen
KItchen into Dining Room
Dining Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Garden
Detail - Bedroom
Detail- Bedroom
Detail - Living Room
Big Sky
Baywatch!
Holme
Thornham
guest review
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Snettisham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda V
1 review
“Cute, dog-friendly cottage; comfortable, everything we needed”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Snettisham is very dog-friendly - the beaches, pubs and shops, with The Bolthole being comfortable, quirky and cheerful. We had a relaxing stay, doing not much, and thoroughly enjoying it !

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan B
1 review
“The Bolthole is well named.”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage is very clean, warm and cosy. It has everything you need for a short stay and the instructions on where things are and what you need to do are great.
Snettisham has everything you need, great pubs and a superb Bistro which we would highly recommend. We have a large car and parking was a problem as all the adjoining cottages were occupied and on times it didn't leave enough room for us to park. On those occasions we were able to park a short distance away so it wasn't that much of an inconvenience.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymolewi...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mr ”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My little family ( my partner and dog) stayed at the Bolthole for my birthday. The premises is so cute, ticked every box I wanted. It was just perfect.

The host was also there to answer any questions and very approachable and met our needs as much as possible.

The house is very welcoming, host left us a welcome pack of bread milk and wine which was wonderful and welcome pack of things to do which we took full advantage of.

We had such a splendid time in Snettisham such a beautiful quaint village, we spend 8 hours just walking around the village, beach and woods it's so pretty.

In eve words of Arnold Schwarzenegger
"I will be back" if the host will have me.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dlacey201...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Cosy cottage in a great location”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The location suited us perfectly, in a lovely village ideal for exploring this part of Norfolk. The cottage is cosy and well appointed, ideal for a couple that isn't put off by a steep and narrow staircase up to the bedroom and bathroom. Sarah went out of her way to resolve issued that came up. We certainly expect to stay again next time we visit Norfolk.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V4832QNpa
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely stay ”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at the Bolthole for three nights with our two dogs. It was completely home from home. It had all of the amenities required and Sarah left us a loaf of bread, milk and a bottle of wine which was a lovely touch. Unfortunately the fire was out of action when we arrived due to it needing a sweep but Sarah did provide a flame affect fire which was a nice touch. The house has full central heating so we were never cold.
We all had a lovely time at the Bolthole and there are plenty of lovely beaches to visit with the dogs and lovely towns nearby which allow dogs in cafes and bars too.
We would definitely like to return and would recommend this house to anyone looking for a break in that area.

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2016
Thank you for your review and for recommending The Bolthole. I'm so glad you had a lovely stay. Chimney now swept, yay! Glad you liked the temporary flame effect fire. Do hope to welcome you back again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen E
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Holiday with our old lady- Tess our 16 year old labrador”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great location and it lived up to it's name! Easy to get to lots of towns and beaches! Sarah provides lots of literature and maps. The best one was the dog friendly beaches and places to eat that welcome dog - so useful! Will definately return.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. You were lovely guests and are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROCKWELL
DERBYSHIRE,ENGLAND
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage feel.”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Bolthole is a nice compact cottage which is thoughtfully furnished by the owner. We found it clean and well maintained with plenty of little extras to make your stay easy. Within easy reach of different footpaths into the countryside and to the sea we found no reason to use our car once we arrived for a four day stay. A quite steep winder staircase with a sturdy rope 'handrail' takes you to the bathroom which has the toilet,washbasin and bath with combi boiler shower. The only bedroom adjacent has a comfortable double bed. The kitchen is compact but fine for a couple with a small extension dining extension, which leads out to the small enclosed garden. The front room has a good quality Tv/Dvd combo with free view over the open fireplace with a large sofa facing it. The cottage door at the front opens straight onto the road and parking can be difficult but we managed fine.The public houses in the village are within easy walking distance. Would we stay again ? Yes we would.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. Parking is indeed often a wee bit difficult. Depends on how courteous people are. Glad you found it to be okay. As I say in my notes, if you can't get in directly in front of the cottage you can always park very nearby. I hope you visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing