We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveler rating
350
159
60
23
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
350
159
60
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub mussels children's play area main course walled garden an evening meal real ale roast beef lovely atmosphere booked a table ate here wine list for sunday lunch fresh milk north norfolk mid week cooked to perfection
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 608 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2017

we stayed in the loft room at £120 a night ,the nose from the bar under the room was full-on till past midnight ,not a good nights sleep
the food in the pub was nice ,the pub has very steep stair cases ?

Room tip: do not book an over priced loft room ,
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank martinshaw193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017

Overriding impression of welcoming and well-trained staff. Having initially accidently entered the building via a private function we were sensitively helped to a cosy bar where we enjoyed an extremely good value 3 course meal. It was early evening and the pub was getting pretty busy. Despite this the service we received as un-booked customers was excellent.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank wbjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017

Visited early October for a romantic meal with hubby! Had not booked but despite clearly being busy we were accommodated and made very welcome! Excellent friendly service, good food and good value for money. After dinner we enjoyed drinks in another room on comfy sofas. Two courses with drinks came to £60 total. Would love to go back for a post Christmas break!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile

I have eaten here a few times in the last 3 months and the Rise & Crown is now a firm favourite. The food is excellent with Quality ingredients, beautifully cooked and presented. The staff are so efficient and knowledgable about the food and drink, making each visit an absolute pleasure! Looking forward to my first ever Christmas dinner "out" later on this year!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jswar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile

This is very much a pub with rooms rather than a hotel and I thought the price was quite expensive for what was provided. The reception area was very unwelcoming and there was no separate resident's lounge. Our room was very small and looking at the block containing the bedrooms, none looked much different. As well as being very cramped our bedroom was very dark and stuffy so the air conditioning is a must in anything other than cold weather. On the plus side the room was clean, the bed was comfy and shower was great. We ate in the pub each night as there is little choice close by. The dinners were quite what you'd expect in a decent pub but by the third night I was struggling for choice. The chocolate orange pudding I had on the first night was fairly inedible being the texture of clay. Breakfasts were good, with a decent range of hot dishes but would have liked more fresh fruit. One thing I found particularly unpleasant was the smell of bleach around one of the bars / kitchen areas which isn't great when you are staying overnight and eating in the restaurant

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank gillyb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Rose & Crown. We are always grateful to guests who take the time to write. This is a 14th century building and the bedrooms are not large, but they are pretty, inviting and comfortable, and as you say, the showers are very good. We make a conscious effort to keep the menu a manageable length in the interest of quality and freshness, and the menu is supplemented by a list of regularly changing specials. I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews