We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing stay.”
Review of The Rose and Crown

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Snettisham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rose and Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snettisham
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dissappointing stay.”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We booked in for bed and breakfast, the room was small and dated, the bathroom was badly lit and no outside window, very uncomfortable night with no air con and only a small window to open. TV worked before we went out and had on signal on return, breakfast was poor, pre cooked, hard egg, overdone rock hard bacon and served by the most miserable women ever. It was £110 and should have been no more than £75.

Room Tip: Book early and get a better room, don't have breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at The Rose & Crown. We work very hard to ensure that every aspect of the business more than meets our customers' expectations. Unfortunately on this occassion we seem to have fallen short. We will, of course, investigate each of the areas you mention and very much hope you will return at some point for a more satisfactory stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    129
    47
    19
    13
See reviews for
99
244
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed at the rose and crown for two nights bed breakfast and evening meal offer with my partner.We had a very well appointed ground floor room which was accessed via the garden and it also had access from the top of the car park.It would be suitable for disabled guests as the bathroom was a wet room.The staff were very friendly and we chose a time to have our evening meal.Our 3 course evening meal was v good and there are several rooms to eat in but we were in the front restaurant which was v comfortable.The service again was good and the food delicious,fantastic asparagus and beautiful scallops! My partner enjoyed his favourite pud..rhubarb crumble!The breakfast was good,buffet of cereals,yoghurt,fruit etc and homemade preserves There was a varied choice of cooked food to order,I enjoyed my smoked salmon and scrambled egg.The location was good for visiting places of interest like beaches or Sandringham and we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellsbells1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Just to say thank you to you and all the other reviewers who have left such positive comments. We at The Rose & Crown work very hard to make each customer's visit a truly enjoyable one, and we are very proud of the high standards they achieve. It is a great boost, and a pleasure, to all of us to read that customers have had a happy visit. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were really pleasantly surprised by the Rose and Crown, which is much better then Web site suggests. I was half expecting a small pub with just a few basic rooms upstairs, but the picture of the pub is misleading. Behind the small village inn facade is a large hotel with 18 bedrooms, all en-suite, with a large bar area and three dining areas. The food was excellent with a varied menu, and good man-sized portions.

All the rooms have quirky names. You may be placed under the stairs, in the old office, the laundry or grain store. Typically, I ended up in the dog house! The room was bright, modern, clean and comfortable with all the modern facilities such as TV, bathroom with bath and shower and tea/coffee making facilities.

Nearby are the RSPB reserves at Snettisham which is down Beach Road off the A149, and Titchwell Marsh just past Thornham village on the A149. Both reserves provide excellent views of the birdlife on the coastal areas of the Wash and have several bird hides and viewing areas. Titchwell has a visitors centre and is better suited to families and newbies. From here you can also pick up RSPB leaflets with maps/plans of the local reserves. The Snettisham reserve is about 1.5 miles down a footpath from the car park, and if you time your visit to be there as the tide is coming in you may be treated to spectacular views of swarming Knott as well as many other waders.

Room Tip: Well located for RSPB reserves at Snettisham and Titchwell Marsh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John4One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We booked the Rose and Crown after my daughter stayed and told us how much she enjoyed it. I have just read a poor review, and must say that I am astounded. The staff were excellent. The room comfortable and clean, with character. The food was excellent and the service exemplary. Despite me being in one of my clumsy moods, first setting fire to my menu with the candle (Don't worry sir, we see that alot) then smashing my wine glass and finally getting my toast stuck in the toaster the next morning, the staff just laughed and cleared up after me.

Despite all this the bill the next day was cheaper than I thought and I will be recommending this excellent Country pub and high quality B&B to everyone.

Several recommendations. While there going to Sandringham and Castle Rising are a must! Wandering around built up an appetite for an excellent 4 course meal with several beers. The Scallops are excellent! A must! Lamb Rump perfectly cooked and the Beer battered Herring was excellent.

Only downer was being above the bar, which was noisey till 11.30 (but you expect that from such a busy pub!!) and too much lemon zest in the lemon sorbet (owner & chef please note :) )

Otherwise I would recommend this to everyone. But please take into account this is a busy country pub/restaurant and don't expect to be in bed by 9.

Room Tip: The Old Wash room is above the rear bar, but nice and quiet in the morning. So if you like to go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We try and eat here once a month and have always been really pleased with the food and service.

There is plenty to choose from on the menu with ever-changing specials for starters, mains and desserts. The 'Rose and Crown Classics' remain on the menu at all times and include bangers and mash, fish and chips, gammon, burger, steak etc so you always know there will be something to have.

I particularly recommend the fish and chips, you get a huge portion (as a female I can never finish it!!) and it is always cooked to perfection! For dessert I recommend the milk/white chocolate creme brulee - I am always please when this appears on the menu!

Fresh cold water is always provided on the tables. You get a basket of freshly made bread and butter with starters (or you can order this by itself).

Service has always been fantastic and the waitresses are always polite and attentive.

The restaurant is split into 3 rooms, all excellently decorated. The pub has a real 'homely' feel to it. There is plenty of parking at the front/back of the pub.

I would recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: Book a table in advance as they always fill up quick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cakelover06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

we booked this hotel for 1 night for our 10 weddinganniversary they were made aware of this when we booked to stay there we got there everthing seemed ok very noisy lots of kids running round as we went to our room we asked would this go on all night and was told no ok we thought booked table for dinner and asked about there afternoon tea we had booked very dissapointed it was a crap piece of lemon drissle cake that was it thats not afternoon tea at all were we very dissapointed at that and well then came dinner we had to wait a long time for this everyone else had bread and water on there table we waited about 15 minutes nothing happened janes asked about it and you only get bread if you have a starter no wine list was given no a thing was done or said aboit our special wedding anniversary at all the service was attrosus and we were felt that we were the scum of the earth they had no time for us at all to busy with all the locals it was terrible and the food was very expensive mash and sausages nothing special at all we left the resturant very quicky as we were very upset at this attuide from them we went to the room and heard all this noise and when james went outside to see what it was they had put us in a room right next door to the kitchen well the noise got worse and worse well past midnight we never complained as when james went looking for someone there was no one about it was all locked up great service we awoke next morning at 4.45am and decided to check out asap packed our bags and got dressed james again went to reception to check out no one there at all only a list of nos i called one at 5,45 am and it was the owner told him i was very upset at the service we got he said he would call me early part of the week to dicuss this and its been 10 days now and he has not even bothered to call or email me to aploigize or anything if thats the owners attitude you can see where the staff get this sloppy attiude from the thing is we went to the hoste arms in burnhammarket for lunch and this place has all the celebrites there and we were concerned it would be very snobby there it was not indeed they had decorated our table ans said happy annversary it was a fantastic lunch treated very well indeed no wonder the hoste arms has fab reviews the staff are all very pleasent and made you feel very welcome indeed thank you hoste arms

Room Tip: do not go here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 187045Yvonne007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at The Rose & Crown. We did our utmost to satisfy each and every one of your demands. Clearly you did not feel this was enough. Normally our customers leave happy. I regret that on this occassion that was not the case. Normally our customers also pay their bills!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My wife booked the 4 days away on the strength of the Sunday Telegraph review. There are two bars offerring well kept excellent real ales including Bass, Wherry, adnams bitter and my favourite, Broadside. There are three other restauraunt areas, two for adults and a garden room for the younger ones. Breakfast was very good and cooked to order. In the evening there is a Specials Board, quality puddings and a well-stocked wine list. My wife recommends the caramel dessert with the creme brulee - stunning!!
Make sure you use the middle of the day for activities/exercise as you will be well-fed and watered in the evening, we were, and were not disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Laundry Room (great name) and slept well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoottHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snettisham
2.8 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
867 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
550 reviews
5.0 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
10.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,305 reviews
7.3 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Property: The Rose and Crown
Address: Old Church Rd, Snettisham PE31 7LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Snettisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snettisham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rose and Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Rose & Crown...a traditional Norfolk pub East of England Pub of the Year 2012 - The Good Pub Guide Norfolk Dining Pub of the Year 2012 - The Good Pub Guide Read the reviews...Everything you'd expect . . . from a 14th Century North Norfolk village inn - twisting passages and hidden corners, low ceilings and old beams, pamment floors and log fires, excellent beers and a relaxed, informal atmosphere. . . . and more . . . great food, delicious wines, 16 stylish bedrooms offering outstanding bed & breakfast accommodation, sunny walled garden, children's play fort and friendly staff. . . . all in all . . . one of the best places from which to explore glorious North Norfolk . . to walk, eat, shop, read, bird watch, golf, sail and most importantly, to relax. We have a younger sister, the Bank House Hotel in King's Lynn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel Snettisham
Rose And Crown Snettisham
Rose And Crown Hotel Snettisham
The Rose And Crown Snettisham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing