We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rose and Crown

The Rose and Crown
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Snettisham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $47
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was in Norfolk for a week and ended up eating here most nights. Great food and good service. Loved it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    116
    69
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Old Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rosey food but comfort isn't a Crowning Glory.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

As locals my husband and I frequently visit local restaurants to find out whether or not a reputation is deserved. The Rose & Crown in Snettisham was one venue we had not visited, so when an evening of sunny weather enticed us to go out we headed over to the R&C.
True to the many accolades the pub/restaurant has, this querkily laid out building was both welcoming and oldey worldey.
Although we had not booked, staff were quick to find out whether we could be accommodated for dinner. A lively 'afterwork bar' was in full flow with plenty of local artisans enjoying a well deserved pint (or three) and had reportedly eaten the R&C out of peanuts. A lot of jocularity was going on and it was great seeing folk have a good time after a hard day's work.
We were shown into a 'parlour' style dining room which had a delightful,welcoming and knowledgeable waitress. The only problem was that the seating was extremely uncomfortable and our table for two was very cramped.
This proved to be a bit of a problem when a Platter for Two was delivered to the table. The variety of tapas-like dishes on the Platter was absolutely delicious and barely a crumb was left. Traditional dishes of fish and chips were then served and the sheer quantity as well as the quality was superb. Again, the size of plates and the other items on the table made eating feel very cramped so although the food and service was excellent, the small and rather dark dining room was not added to our favourites list.
The Rose & Crown is a large establishment and, at the back of the pub, is a beautifully appointed, light and airy dining room. How much more enjoyable it would have been to eat in there!
The Rose and Crown deserves its reputation for food and service but where clientele is in the older category and the comfort of chairs and tables is important, it would be worth checking where one will be placed to dine. However, meals are also served in the little ante rooms in the main bar, so this is perhaps another alternative if preferred.
Overall, a lovely visit which will be repeated but only if my husband and I can eat in a more comfortable part of the building.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxine1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lyn
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went on a sunny Friday Evening with our two boys, we arrived at 5pm and it was already busy, we had a table in the garden, and the boys enjoyed the childrens play area tremendously, we ate and the children had spag Bol, my wife had the haddock which she said was very good and I had the chicken and pulled pork, it was fantastic, and the home made onion rings were great. The boys have already asked if they can go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jono1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We visited on the recommendation of a local B&B. Only one course out of four was acceptably good - and two were very poor. Service was variable - with one of the serving staff having a mobile phone that repeatedly went off when serving people.
Overall the quality of the food wasn't up to the mark and neither was the service. It looked as if there were too many covers for the available kitchen staff to deal with properly. The pub itself was quite rambling, with a number of rooms with quite different ambiences - though we didn't much care for any of them (the no-kids area seemed to be populated with quite dull, accepting people - despite several others complaining of various aspects of the service etc).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EE_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
522 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had spent the morning at the Norfolk Lavender Centre at Heacham and wanted a good, pub lunch. At the Rose and Crown in Snettisham a few miles south we found and enjoyed what was probably the best pub lunch we have had for some time. And reasonably priced too.
The starters ranged from Vichyssoise to buttered samphire with brown bread and the mains from (excellent) haddock and chips to a seafood platter (smoked salmon, crevettes and crab) and the puds were to die for: cold rhubarb parfait, chocolate brownie and raspberry mousse. With drinks before and during and coffee after, this was exceptional value for four people at £130.
We ate in a small(ish) room and were surprised to see a much larger room and amazed to discover that the night before they had over 170 covers. The bar area retains the look and feel of a typical Norfolk Country pub and there is a large garden with a children's play area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgsnorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose and Crown also viewed

Snettisham, Norfolk
Snettisham, Norfolk
 
Dersingham, King's Lynn
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing