We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable visit, service patchy”
Review of The Rose and Crown

The Rose and Crown
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Snettisham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $47
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Positives : great pub atmosphere, good choice of beers on tap, decent varied menu and we tried the specials board, which had a really good chicken & leek dish, which was very tasty.

Negatives : our food took ages to arrive and when I asked how much longer it would be, the waitress conceded she had forgotten to place the order in the kitchen. She was quite apologetic, but not even an offer of any compensation was made, eg a complementary coffee. Puddings were a disappointment too -- a bit stodgy.

Generally my view is that this pub is busy for a reason -- the food is good, it's great for children with its play area but it's perhaps not well staffed enough for the high volume of customers it's now serving and consequently the service suffers. Overall though, I would certainly recommend you give this pub a try as it's still of a good standard, and definitely a decent eatery in the gastropub category.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sleepy_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for The Rose and Crown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 482 of 521 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

we were visiting the area and had booked a table here , the food is outstanding really fresh reall inventive and basically just yummy!
service was excellent too

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hazel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We finished our stay in the area with a meal at The Rose & Crown.
A good move as it was a meal to remember in atmospheric surroundings.

Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have eaten at The Rose and Crown many times in the last 20 yrs.We had lunch there twice last weekend,and it was excellant.We ate in the walled garden,there is a very well sited play area. The food was excellant,beautifully presented and cooked,local crab and Cray fish ,lovely sauce,with pasta,local Gernard.
The service was excellant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cubancigarUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My daughter booked a dinner table for 3 adults to celebrate my birthday. On arrival we were sent on a hunt the restaurant mission from vague directions only to be told we weren't in there but in another room. This was not a restaurant dinning room as the tables were not laid out for dinner, it seemed to be a room for people with young families which is fine, but we had booked for dinner in the restaurant and the makeup of the tables showed this was not a room for a dinner party, just a bare very large tables. Eventually we ordered , no wine list!! After a chat with a waitress we were taken to a table in the restaurant which was almost empty but fully laid up for dinner. so what was it about us that we couldn't have gone there in the first place. The food was poor, my Cromer crab and linguine had a packet of rocket dumped on top and dollops of mozzarella cheese in it. Seafood with cheese, che cosa terribile!!! It spoilt what had otherwise been a good birthday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrianT70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for your comments - we are always grateful to customers who take the time to write. I am sorry you did not enjoy your recent visit to The Rose & Crown. We work very hard to maintain a high standard of customer care, service and food. Clearly on this occassion we did not come up to expectations, for which I can only apologise. The Rose & Crown prides itself on its terrrific atmosphere as a buzzing local village pub with excellent food, friendly staff, and on offering value for money. I hope you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose and Crown also viewed

 
Snettisham, Norfolk
Dersingham, King's Lynn
 

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing