We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame”

The Orange Tree Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Thornham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Norwich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such a shame”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Family meal Saturday night booked for 8pm. When handed the menus, five of the six specials were 'not available' as was one off the main menu. To be told 'we are fully booked out and so sold out' is not acceptable, especially as this is such a tourist focused area and they would be well aware it was the start of half term and the weekend nearest to valentines day. Two of our party had the chickpea, feta and preserved lemon burgers - not a hint of lemon, hardly any feta detected but a HUGE quantity of the chickpeas - indigestion has been a problem since. The lamb rump was voted a great success and the chicken burger was 'very nice'. This pub is always the first choice of our children when they visit us, however this time our conversation was all about other establishments in the area we will be taking our business to.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachdiva4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOrangeTree_10, Owner at The Orange Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello. Firstly thanks for your comments. By way of explanation, the dishes no longer available were nearly all from the daily specials list. As the name suggests they are prepared daily and in limited quantities to ensure freshness. During the daytime we served more than twice as many meals as the previous year on the same weekend. Consequently, by that evening we were primarily serving food from our main menus, which offer a variety of meat, fish and vegetarian dishes. I am sorry you did not enjoy the chickpea burger - as a vegetarian dish it is generally very well received by most who sample it. Good luck on your trip advisor travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    243
    126
    56
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

What a lovely place we stopped for lunch while passing through to burnham market . the welcome from the front of house was excellent as was the food we had , white bait ,and local mussels can't wait to go back it was far in front of the food and service at the hoste in burnham market

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOrangeTree_10, Owner at The Orange Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello. Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback. The mussels are particularly good this year after a wet 2012. The whitebait a certainly proving popular as well. Look forward to seeing you again soon. The OT team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always excellent!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Have eaten here on many times and is my favorite place to come and eat. The food is always very well presented and beautiful. I adore their curry's and always come away with a jar of their homemade paste!!! This to me is the very best place to eat in North Norfolk.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flossyNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOrangeTree_10, Owner at The Orange Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Fantastic, thank you very much. But please be careful with the curry paste!! The OT team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Classy and welcoming”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Standards are being well kept-up here - friendly staff and classy food. A slight tendency to over-arty presentation, and it gets quite noisy in the main dining room because there are so many hard surfaces, but those are really minor negatives.
You need to book well in advance to get popular time slots for for weekend dinners, and the popularity's deserved. Good value in the light of the quality of food and service, as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drmarkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOrangeTree_10, Owner at The Orange Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are always looking for ways to improve - please watch this space as we have some interesting changes lined up. The OT team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Now converted, it is worth going.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were a little bit suspicious as the King's Head was a good pub and it seemed very odd to rename it as well as making it into a Chelsea Bistro but actually the beer was good, there are now comfy couches and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food and wine were excellent and the atmosphere was also friendly and not too over the top. All in all I would recommend it .We had heard from others that it was good but it was the snow that drove us there. We are definitely now converts. Shame they have a 6.30 and 8.30 sittings policy but I suppose that is popularity in action.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maggie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOrangeTree_10, Owner at The Orange Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much. Apologies for the dreadful weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orange Tree Restaurant also viewed

 
Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
 

Been to The Orange Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing