We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good value, good company”
Review of The Orange Tree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Orange Tree
Ranked #3 of 5 Thornham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Having enjoyed a couple of days at The Orange Tree in July, just 3 weeks after it had been taken over by its new owners, I took my husband back for a weekend for his birthday.

Once again the food was excellent and you can see that the new owners are making this an excellent place to stay.

All of the staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

We will certainly be going back again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemarieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 423 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2009

We went to The Orange Tree for dinner whilst staying nearby and it was lovely. The food was amazing, particularly my duck. The staff we were really friendly and welcoming and worked really hard to find us a taxi home, an almost impossible task. I would highly recommend The Orange Tree restaurant.
We weren't staying here so can not comment on the hotel as a place to stay but if it is as good as the restaurant it should be excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsarefun90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We stayed in Hunstanton for 2 nights in early August on a golf trip.

On the first night we ate at The Neptune in Old Hunstanton which received it's first Michelin star in January. It was fine but not spectacular.

Having carried out a brief inspection of other potential eateries within walking idstance of where we were staying the following morning we decided that we would have to search further a field as nothing really jumped out at us.

We remembered that the previous day we had driven past The Orange Tree on the way back from Sheringham and it looked good and was busy and so we decided to give it a go.

Due to a late finish on the golf course we arrived at 8.30ish and despite the fact that it was,again, busy there was a table free.

The food was good modern English stuff with plenty of seafood. The winelist was pretty extensive and not marked up excessively.

However, the 2 standout factors were the service and the atmosphere.

The waiting staff were all young locals as far as we could tell and not professional waiting staff. They were polite, efficient and friendly. At the end of the night we asked a waiter if he could get us a taxi (we had driven to get there because we were late but intended to leave the car). We had not thought about ordering the taxi earlier as we assumed that there would be plenty available in the holiday season.

Our request was met with a pleasant, but worried, smile. A few minutes later the manager came over and suggested that there may be a problem. They would try to get a taxi for us but it may be difficult! We were facing a 5 mile walk home in the rain.

After a further few minutes, the manager came over again and adivsed that they definitely could not get us a taxi but one of the waiters would give us a lift back to Hunstanton as he was going that way. We arrived back at our hotel safe and dry after a really good fun evening out.

I would thoroughly recommend The Orange Tree. it has a great feel about it and seems to be poular with young and not so young, locals and visitors alike. You can't compare the food to somewhere like The Neptune (where the service was also the stand out feature for me in a very good way) but in an all round enjoyement sense we all preferred The Orange Tree.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheekyNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We recently stayed for one night as part of a flying visit to the coast. The rooms are converted from a stable block to the side of the restaurant and so therefore have a distinct 'motel' like quality.

For a one night crash pad the Orange Tree is perfectly acceptable, but I don't think I'd want to stay longer. The rooms are small and in definate need of a refurb. Unfortunately, we had number 4 with the cracked basin - something so simple and still hasn't been fixed even though it's quite evidently been broken for months. The bathrooms need updating, carpets need replacing, walls need repainting and furniture a little tacky.

We were also disturbed by other guests - people smoking outside our door and banging/people having showers next door. This was more to do with the layout/design/lack of soundproofing - rather than noisy people.

On the plus side, someone has obviously tried to spruce things up a bit - the soft furnishings and linen were new, clean and crisp. The bed comfy and pillows/duvet feathery and soft. The whole room was very clean.

And breakfast was excellent. We had a lovely cooked breakfast with proper orange juice, delicious bacon and sausages with attentive service.

In this part of the world it's difficult to find value for money accommodation and often struggle between having to fork out huge amounts to stay at places like the Hoste Arms versus renting a caravan or campsite on Hunstanton beach. If the bathrooms were updated and the rooms spruced up, this place could be a really good in between for people who want simple, stylish accommodation without having to pay over the odds.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desparately_seeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

The rooms aren't huge, and will be in need of a bit of TLC before too long, but they were clean, comfortable and the staff were friendly and attentive. I'd happily go back there when in the area. The breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firestarter29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

re complaints on this site re the orange tree. having stayed in numerious hotels around the world and expect a good standard of service etc. I had no complaints about housekeeping food or service. The new owner was helpfull and friendly while still maintaining a business like approach something that is sadly lacking these days. A most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peacro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Friendly booking and arrival. Bar, restaurant and outside areas were all pleasant and the staff friendly and helpful. Great choice of meals with a mix of classics with a twist and new ideas all done to a very high standard - you have got to try the tonka bean in the chocolate desert which is a real twist on the marmite test. I loved it my partner was not so sure but the rest of the desert was delightful. WIne was also excellent.

The room was amazing value for the superb location. The breakfast were made with care and were a great start to the day. New owners and all staff we met were wonderful and also provide much needed help when we needed it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornham
1.7 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
862 reviews
1.6 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
407 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
898 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
844 reviews
3.0 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orange Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orange Tree

Address: High Street, Thornham PE36 6LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thornham
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Thornham
Price Range: $90 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orange Tree 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Orange Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orange Tree Hotel Thornham
The Orange Tree Thornham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing