We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bar menu was good”
Review of The Orange Tree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Orange Tree
Ranked #2 of 5 Thornham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bar menu was good”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Excellent country pub - the location is a delight a lovely setting. Enjoyed the pub bar menu - fish n chips and a burger, both cooked well and served perfectly. Easy to see why it was popular - worth a visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nickb623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    117
    54
    17
    14
See reviews for
70
257
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just enjoyed an incredibly good meal at the Orange Tree. Hard to choose from a menu full of interesting and innovative choices. Each course surpassed the one before - excellent ingredients perfectly cooked and combined to make taste sensations.
Looked after fabulously by a charming young lady named Becky who went out of her way to help. Real service with a smile.
If you want delicious food that's great value, served by lovely people in a stunning environment then look no further.
Wish we lived locally!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coreleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here about ten times over the last two years each time we return it gets better . The staff are friendly , food is Excellent a new menu each time we return . Rooms a clean modern and comfortable . When I have time for a short break I would not go any where else .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickeymickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

A delightful little pub where they have converted the stables into rooms, this makes the rooms small but they are very well decorated and maintained.
There seems to have been no expense spared in decorating the pub or the rooms and the food is extremely well presented, tasty, innovative and enjoyable.
Everybody we met there was pleasant and polite and helpful making our one night stay a pleasure.
An interesting breakfast menu which even included smoked salmon for those with a taste for the finer things.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sible Hedingham
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The restaurant serves very good food and the staff are helpful and friendly.
The rooms are not up the same standard, very small and not well planned. The wet room approach and poor handbasin design needs reviewing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Really enjoyed a two night stay at the Orange Tree. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely and the evening meals were exceptional, especially the pud "Fairground"
It included candy floss, do-nuts, ice cream, marshmallows, toffee apples and more. Fabulous.!
Nice room with table and chairs outside to sit in the sunshine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janma42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked a two night break which was lovely from start to finish. The staff throughout the hotel are so friendly and cannot do enough for you, they were always so helpful. The room is small but has everything you could wish for, the bath room is lovely with every essential you could wish for, there is a lovely seating area outside each room which is a lovely touch. Oh mustn't forget, the bed was lovely and comfy and had two lovely nights sleep.
Breakfast was lovely, try eggs benedict.
Will definitely be going back as a lovely place with a superb restuarant and bar.

Room Tip: The rooms are all in a little courtyard type area with lovely herb plots dotted around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diandruss2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornham
1.7 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
4.4 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orange Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orange Tree

Property: The Orange Tree
Address: High Street, Thornham PE36 6LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thornham
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Thornham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orange Tree 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Orange Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orange Tree Hotel Thornham
The Orange Tree Thornham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing