We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,671)
Filter reviews
1,671 results
Traveler rating
774
419
263
133
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
774
419
263
133
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the vine railway carriage the main hotel garden room junior suite cooked breakfast oysters new owners garden restaurant dog friendly hotel north norfolk afternoon tea lovely village waiting staff birthday treat car park wine list
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 1,671 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2016

I have been staying at this hotel twice a year for the last 10 years and have to say that it has now got its mojo back again. On arrival we were offered an upgrade for £25 from standard room to a devine room and were placed in the new rooms 73 and 74 which are very good indeed. great space, fab firm bed, good bathroom and most requirements met for the 4 start rating.
Dinner was very good and I asked for Mussels which were not on the menu but were delivered beautifully. All diners said their food was good. We tried the assortment of puds which was delicious and highly recommended.
Breakfast could do with a few tweaks and it would be nice to see a better selection of breads which could be freshly baked, but a minor inconvenience.
Staff attitude is brilliant, no issue too much and all done with a genuine smile.
Well done to all at the Hoste. We will be back.

Room tip: Ask for the newly appointed rooms
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 14RPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at The Hoste, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear 14RPR
Many thanks for your feedback on our team, food, and service. Our Brancaster mussels are at their best this time of year and the Divine rooms offer luxury and great facilities. Next time try our Vine House rooms for the boutique hotel experience right on our doorstep.
Best wishes
Paul Murfitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016

Had an awesome time . Staff helpful, room upgrade well worth it . Ate in the restaurants and the food was perfect . The sharing desert pure heaven . We met lots of nice residents there and everyone was friendly .
We had a new baby and the hotel was baby friendly too

Room tip: The room upgrade was worth the extra and a real treat
Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kaggy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at The Hoste, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear Kaggy45
Many thanks for your feedback on your stay and how much you enjoyed it. We have just changed our dessert menu so it’s now even more decadent. Many of our rooms offer very family friendly facilities as well as cots so you don’t have to bring your own.
Best wishes
Paul Murfitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2016

After just returning home from our stay in the Vine House at The Hoste in Burnham Market we just wanted to say what a wonderful weekend we had. The staff were very friendly and attentive, the rooms were immaculate and the food and service were second to none. We dined at the Hoste on Sat Evening and had a 3 course meal which was both enjoyable and memorable . the service and all involved from start to finish was excellent. We also had the continental breakfast which was included in the price and consisted of a variety of cereals, fresh and dried fruits, nuts , salmon,avocado , cured meats, variety of Danish pastries etc. Cooked breakfasts were available at a charge but we found the continental breakfast quite sufficient .We will definitely be returning in the very near future.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fosterfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at The Hoste, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear fosterfog
Thank you for your feedback on your stay and how much you enjoyed our food, service and team- our superb cooked breakfast is well worth the upgrade with our local sausages, bacon and produce. Do come and see us again soon.
Best wishes
Paul Murfitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

The Hoste should be a great destination and it has a lot going for it. Great location, plenty of amenities and a reassuringly expensive price tag. However, and it really is a however, it's just not quite up to mark. We stayed for a night with the whole clan and had dinner and breakfast. Our bedroom was in an annex building for which we were most grateful given the noise levels from the main building with an event underway until late. The room itself was one of the larger (and more expensive) ones available. Superficially smart it doesn't take long to notice the tired edges, stained carpet and grubby corners and window in the bathroom. Dinner was good quality but service was a little hit or miss. Continental breakfast (included in room rate) is fine (croissant etc., toast, yoghurts and cereal) but, again, actually not particularly expansive or adventurous. We opted not to have to cooked offer, which would have added to the growing bill for our stay. I have probably been a little harsh in the rating, but the cost of the room (and the price of food) means that the Hoste needs to work harder at getting the basics correct in ensuring that they update and maintain their rooms and keep on top of the 'offer'. It's a shame, because this could be and should be a great place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank londontim2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a 3 night break.. after reading some of the reviews i had an open mind, we had lovely warm welcome.. The Room was superb as was the bathroom..(if you get the opportunity ask for room 11). The staff are friendly, very professional and nothing was too much trouble.. As for the comment made by someone writing a review that their bed was not turned down, I can only reply to that is he had obviously forgotten that The Hoste is four star accommodation. A very easy mistake to make as everything about The Hoste is shouting five star.. all the staff are friendly and super helpful, the spa was an added luxury and I cannot wait until January to return for the racing weekend.. thank you to all the staff for a wonderful restful break.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lornaday65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews